Oupa back in Cheetahs squad

    2016-04-13 12:37

    Cape Town - Cheetahs coach Franco Smith has named his team for their Super Rugby clash against the Sunwolves in Bloemfontein on Friday (19:00 kick-off).

    Smith has made a few changes to the team that lost 23-18 to the Bulls in Pretoria on April 2.

    Up front, Charles Marais moves into the starting line-up, replacing Ox Nche at loosehead prop.

    Maks van Dyk and Johan Coetzee also switch places, with Van Dyk starting at tighthead prop and Coetzee moving to the bench.

    Hilton Lobberts also replaces the injured Boom Prinsloo at flank, with the latter ruled out for the season with a hamstring injury.

    In the backline, captain Francois Venter and Nico Lee switch places in midfield, with Venter moving to inside centre and Lee taking the No 13 jersey.

    Another significant change sees the return of Springbok loose forward Oupa Mohoje, who is making his comeback after an injury. He will start on the bench in place of Henco Venter.



    15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Nico Lee, 12 Francois Venter (captain), 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Niel Marais, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Paul Schoeman, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Hilton Lobberts, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Lood de Jager, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Charles Marais

    Substitutes: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Danie Minnie, 18 Johan Coetzee, 19 Carl Wegner, 20 Henco Venter, 21 Oupa Mohoje, 22 Tian Meyer, 23 Fred Zeilinga




    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights


    Friday, 15 February 2019
    • Chiefs v Highlanders, FMG Stadium Waikato 08:35
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:45
    Saturday, 16 February 2019
    • Blues v Crusaders, Eden Park 08:35
    • Waratahs v Hurricanes, Allianz Stadium 10:45
    • Sunwolves v Sharks, Chichibunomiya Rugby Stadium 12:55
    • Bulls v Stormers, Loftus Versfeld 17:15
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 22 February 2019
    • Highlanders v Reds, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:35


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    Who will win the 2018 Rugby Championships?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.