Odendaal returns to lead Bulls against Brumbies

    2018-05-24 15:37

    Cape Town - Regular inside centre and captain, Burger Odendaal, will lead the Bulls their Super Rugby clash against the Brumbies at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

    Odendaal missed last weekend’s clash against the Jaguares in Buenos Aires.

    His return will see Handre Pollard move back to flyhalf with Manie Libbok back onto the bench in place of JT Jackson.

    In the other changes to the team from last weekend, Nic de Jager comes into the starting lineup at flank, where he takes over from Thembelani Bholi, with the latter moving to the bench and Jaco Visagie will swop with Adriaan Strauss at hooker.

    Strauss will again extend his South African appearance record in Super Rugby when he takes to the field for the 156th time.

    Bulls coach, John Mitchell, also introduced two new faces to the bench. Ruben van Heerden will be backing up at lock and there is a potential Bulls and Super Rugby debut for Matthys Basson, who comes in for Frans van Wyk at prop.

    "We know that our effort last weekend was not good enough. It was a setback in our efforts and ambitions for the season. We do get another opportunity a week later and we are playing at home, so we have a great chance to redeem ourselves in front of our home support," Mitchell said.

    Odendaal admitted that the Brumbies all-round game could prove a handful.

    "They are certainly well-balanced and we need to be sharp in execution and finishing off if we want to secure a win. The guys are keen to embrace this opportunity though, especially at home in front of our supporters."

    Kick-off is at 15:05.



    15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Travis Odendaal, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Johnny Kotze, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Marco van Staden, 7 Nic de Jager, 6 Roelof Smit, 5 RG Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Conraad van Vuuren, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Trevor Nyakane

    Substitutes: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Mox Mxoli, 18 Matthys Basson, 19 Ruben van Heerden, 20 Thembelani Bholi, 21 Andre Warner, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Divan Rossouw


    15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Andrew Muirhead, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 David Pocock, 6 Lachlan McCaffrey, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Blake Enever, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 Scott Sio

    Substitutes: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 Nick Mayhew, 18 Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, 19 Richie Arnold, 20 Tom Cusack, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Wharenui Hawera, 23 Andrew Smith

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.