Odendaal named Bulls player of the year

    2017-11-30 07:15

    Pretoria - The Blue Bulls Company held their 2017 awards ceremony with Loftus Versfeld providing the perfect backdrop on Wednesday, November 29.

    The event was attended by players, management, sponsors, partners and stakeholders that make up the Bulls family.

    Centre Burger Odendaal was voted as the senior player of the year after a standout season, while lock Ruben van Heerden was recognised for his breakout year with his junior player of the year award.

    Full list of awards:


    Forward of the Year: Ruan Nortjie

    Back of the Year: Wian van Niekerk

    Players' Player of the Year: JC Pretorius

    Most Promising or Improved Player: Werner Fourie

    Coaches’ Recognition Award: Luke Fortuin


    Forward of the Year: Maruis Verwey

    Back of the Year: Stedman Gans

    Players' Player of the Year: Gerhard Steenekamp

    Most Promising or Improved Player: Xolisa Guma

    Coaches’ Recognition Award: Zama Dyidi

    SuperSport Rugby Challenge

    Forward of the Year: Marco van Staden

    Back of the Year: Andre Warner

    Players' Player of the Year: Tinus de Beer

    Most Promising or Improved Player: Aston Fortuin

    Coaches’ Recognition Award: Abongile Nonkontwana

    Currie Cup

    Forward of the Year: Pierre Schoeman

    Back of the Year: Warrick Gelant

    Players' Player of the Year: Burger Odendaal

    Most Promising or Improved Player: Johan Grobbelaar

    Coaches’ Recognition Award: John William Meyer

    Super Rugby

    Forward of the Year: Jason Jenkins

    Back of the Year: Travis Ismaiel

    Players' Player of the Year: Ruan Steenkamp

    Most Promising or Improved Player: Pierre Schoeman

    Coaches’ Recognition Award: Burger Odendaal

    Other and main awards

    Cheerleader of the Year - voted by Babes: Kirsten Francis

    Puma Award: Ruben van Heerden

    Afgri Award: Pierre Schoeman

    Isuzu Award: Pierre Schoeman

    BBCo Koggelbul Award: Jason Jenkins

    BBCo Employee of the Year: Sophy Tshokwe

    High Performance BBCo Employee Award: Divan Strydom

    High Performance Players Award: Jacus Coetzee

    Coach of the Year: Pote Human

    Junior Player of the Year MVP: Ruben van Heerden

    Senior Player of the Year MVP: Burger Odendaal

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Friday, 25 May 2018
    • Crusaders v Hurricanes, AMI Stadium 09:35
    • Rebels v Sunwolves, AAMI Park 11:45
    • Jaguares v Sharks, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 21:40
    Saturday, 26 May 2018
    • Chiefs v Waratahs, FMG Stadium Waikato 09:35
    • Reds v Highlanders, Suncorp Stadium 11:45
    • Bulls v Brumbies, Loftus Versfeld 15:05
    • Stormers v Lions, Cape Town 17:15
    Friday, 01 June 2018
    • Highlanders v Hurricanes, Forsyth Barr Stadium 09:35


    19 May 2018
    18 May 2018
    12 May 2018
    11 May 2018
    05 May 2018
    04 May 2018
    28 April 2018
    27 April 2018
    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.