New front row for Lions

    2016-04-21 12:25

    Cape Town - Lions coach Johan Ackermann has named his team for Saturday’s South African Super Rugby derby against the Southern Kings in Port Elizabeth.

    The Lions will start with a new front row, while a further three changes have been made to the starting line-up from the one which beat the Stormers 29-22 in Johannesburg last weekend.

    Corne Fourie, Armand ‘Akker’ van der Merwe and Ruan Dreyer will take on the Kings’ front row, while Cyle Brink will don the No 6 jersey.

    Among the backs, Faf de Klerk runs out at scrumhalf and Howard Mnisi starts at centre.

    Ramone Samuels has been drafted in from the Currie Cup side to cover at hooker and Jacques van Rooyen comes in as the prop substitute, while Malcolm Marx and Julian Redelinghuys recover from injuries sustained against the Stormers.

    The Lions also suffered a blow with the news that fullback Andries Coetzee suffered an injury in training that is set to rule him out of action for six to eight weeks.

    Coetzee has played off the bench in the last couple of games, with Jaco van der Walt starting in the No 15 jersey.

    Saturday’s clash at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium is scheduled for 17:10.





    15 Jaco van der Walt, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley (captain), 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Cyle Brink, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Armand van der Merwe, 1 Corne Fourie

    Substitutes: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Jacques van Rooyen, 19 Ruan Ackermann, 20 Jaco Kriel, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 JW Bell, 23 Rohan Janse van Rensburg

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    Saturday, 17 February 2018
    • Stormers v Jaguares, Cape Town 15:05
    • Lions v Sharks, Emirates Airlines Park 17:15
    Friday, 23 February 2018
    • Highlanders v Blues, 08:35
    • Rebels v Reds, AAMI Park 10:45
    Saturday, 24 February 2018
    • Sunwolves v Brumbies, Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium 06:15
    • Crusaders v Chiefs, 08:35
    • Waratahs v Stormers, Allianz Stadium 10:45
    • Lions v Jaguares, Emirates Airlines Park 15:05
    • Bulls v Hurricanes, Loftus Versfeld 17:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    The 2017 Super Rugby tournament has reached its quarter-final stage. When all is said and done, who emerges victorious?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.