Mvovo returns to Sharks starting XV

    2016-05-19 11:38

    Cape Town - The Sharks have one more assignment before a well-deserved bye as they prepare to host the Kings at Growthpoint Kings Park in their second meeting of the competition, this Saturday.

    Their first match of the tournament was in Port Elizabeth against the competition newcomers, resulting in a 43-8 win for the Durban team, and after a further 10 games in 11 weeks, crossing numerous time-zones east and west and taking in three continents in less than three weeks, they will look to finish a grueling schedule on a high note.

    Director of Rugby Gary Gold has been steadfast in his message all season - that weekly improvement is the team’s quest – and recent performances would suggest that the players have not only listened to the message, but thoroughly taken up the challenge.

    Named to start at scrumhalf last week, Michael Claassens missed the Jaguares match after pulling up in captain’s practice with a groin strain, but has recovered in time to start the Kings’ match.

    Lwazi Mvovo returns to the starting line-up while Jean-Luc du Preez comes in for namesake Jean Deysel in the backrow.

    Etienne Oosthuizen has also made his return to the starting line-up, while there is a new front row in Lourens Adriaanse, Chiliboy Ralepelle and Dale Chadwick.

    Assistant coach Robert du Preez knows that the Sharks have had a tough time lately as far as travel is concerned, but will be looking to give everything this weekend to earn their break.

    “We’re not taking the Kings for granted, it’s going to be a tough one,” he explains. “They’re improving every week but we will play our normal, structured game and if the opportunities present themselves, then we have to use them.


    Sharks: 15. Willie le Roux, 15. Willie le Roux, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie (captain), 9. Michael Claassens, 8. Daniel du Preez, 7. Jean-Luc du Preez, 6. Keegan Daniel, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Etienne Oosthuizen, 3. Lourens Adriaanse, 2. Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1. Dale Chadwick         

    Substitutes: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Juan Schoem, 18. Thomas du Toitan, 19. Giant Mtyanda, 20. Tera Mtembu, 21. Stefan Ungerer, 22. Garth April, 23. Odwa Ndungane



    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights


    Saturday, 23 March 2019
    • Hurricanes v Stormers, Westpac Stadium 08:35
    • Waratahs v Crusaders, Sydney Cricket Ground 10:45
    • Sunwolves v Lions, Singapore National Stadium 12:55
    • Bulls v Chiefs, Loftus Versfeld 15:05
    • Sharks v Rebels, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 17:15
    Sunday, 24 March 2019
    • Reds v Brumbies, Suncorp Stadium 07:05
    Friday, 29 March 2019
    • Hurricanes v Crusaders, Westpac Stadium 08:35
    • Waratahs v Sunwolves, McDonald Jones Stadium 10:45


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Lions (wc)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Jaguares

    Opinion Poll

    Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.