Mitchell not perturbed by loss to Sharks

    2018-01-29 08:25

    Cape Town - Bulls coach John Mitchell says he took a lot of positives from their pre-season defeat to the Sharks in Polokwane at the weekend.

    The Sharks, who fielded different teams in each half, won the warm-up encounter 31-14 at Peter Mokaba Stadium.

    The Durbanites outscored the Bulls by five tries to two but Mitchell was not perturbed by the end result.

    “There’s lots to be optimistic about. We didn’t come here with a perfect performance as our goal,” Mitchell told Netwerk24.

    The Bulls attacked with vigour at times, but too many handling errors proved costly.

    Mitchell was happy with his side’s scrummaging and defence, but expressed concern over their lineout play.

    “We played most of the rugby but we gave them too much turnover possession. Losing several lineouts also robbed us of attacking opportunities. But there’s always room for improvement. As I whole, I’m actually quite impressed.”



    Tries: Manie Libbok, Jaco Visagie

    Conversions: Libbok, Marnitz Boshoff


    Tries: Cameron Wright, Makazole Mapimpi (2), Marius Louw, Jacques Vermeulen

    Conversions: Curwin Bosch, Rob du Preez (2)



    First half: 15 Lwazi Mvovo, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Jeremy Ward, 11 S'busiso Nkosi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Keegan Daniel, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 Jacques Vermeulen, 5 Ruan Botha (captain), 4 Hyron Andrews, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Akker van der Merwe, 1 Juan Schoeman

    Second half:

    15 Garth April, 14 Makazole Mapimpi, 13 Tristan Blewett, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Courtney Winnaar, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Tera Mtembu, 7 Wian Vosloo, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Gideon Koegelenberg, 3 John-Hubert Meyer, 2 Franco Marais (captain), 1 Mzamo Majola

    Extra players: Chiliboy Ralepelle, Khuta Mchunu


    15 Divan Rossouw, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Burger Odendaal (captain), 11 Jade Stighling, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Hanro Liebenberg, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Aston Fortuin, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Frans van Wyk, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Lizo Gqoboka

    Substitutes: 16 Jaco Visagie, 17 Pierre Schoeman, 18 Conraad van Vuuren, 19 Eli Snyman, 20 Jano Venter, 21 Roelof Smit, 22 Andre Warner, 23 Marnitz Boshoff, 24 Franco Naude, 25 Jamba Ulengo, 26 Duncan Matthews

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Saturday, 17 March 2018
    • Stormers v Blues, Newlands Stadium 15:05
    • Lions v Sunwolves, Ellis Park 17:15
    • Jaguares v Reds, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Sunday, 18 March 2018
    • Waratahs v Rebels, Sydney Football Stadium 07:05
    Friday, 23 March 2018
    • Crusaders v Bulls, AMI Stadium 08:35
    • Rebels v Sharks, AAMI Park 10:45


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.