Marx to lead Lions on Australasian tour

    2019-04-08 13:31

    Cape Town - Malcolm Marx will lead an experienced Lions squad on their three-match Super Rugby Australasian tour.

    The touring squad consists of 26 players and will depart on Tuesday evening.

    The 27th spot in the group will be filled after the first - and only - match in Australia against the Brumbies in Canberra on Saturday, April 13 (11:45 SA time).

    The Lions will also face the Chiefs in Hamilton (Friday, April 19 at 09:35 SA time) and the Crusaders in Christchurch (Friday, April 26 at 09:35 SA time).

    There also appears to be good news for Warren Whiteley, who has been named on a 'standby' list of players who will remain in South Africa, suggesting that he is nearing a return to fitness following a lengthy layoff with a pectoral injury. 

    Lions Australasian touring squad:


    Carlu Sadie

    Cyle Brink

    Frans van Wyk

    Hacjivah Dayimani

    Johannes Jonker

    Kwagga Smith

    Malcolm Marx (captain)

    Marnus Schoeman

    Marvin Orie

    Nathan McBeth

    Rhyno Herbst

    Robbie Coetzee

    Stephan Lewies

    Sti Sithole

    Wilhelm van der Sluys


    Andries Coetzee

    Aphiwe Dyantyi

    Courtnall Skosan

    Elton Jantjies

    Franco Naude

    Gianni Lombard

    Lionel Mapoe

    Nic Groom

    Ross Cronje

    Ruan Combrinck

    Sylvian Mahuza

    Players on standby in South Africa:

    Harold Vorster

    James Venter

    Jan Henning Champher

    Tyrone Green

    Wandisile Simelane

    Warren Whiteley

    Not considered due to injury:

    Dylan Smith (cheek-bone)

    Jacobie Adriaanse (hamstring)

    Pieter Jansen (calf)

    Reinhardt Nothnagel (shoulder)

    PJ Steenkamp (fractured tibia & fibula)

    Robert Kruger (ankle)

    Vincent Tshituka (ankle)

    Ruan Vermaak (fractured right thumb)

    Dillon Smit (hamstring)

    Manuel Rass (concussion)

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Breaking News


    Friday, 26 April 2019
    • Crusaders v Lions, AMI Stadium 09:35
    • Sunwolves v Highlanders, Chichibunomiya Rugby Stadium 12:00
    Saturday, 27 April 2019
    • Hurricanes v Chiefs, Westpac Stadium 09:35
    • Waratahs v Sharks, Western Sydney Stadium 11:45
    • Stormers v Bulls, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Brumbies, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 03 May 2019
    • Crusaders v Sharks, AMI Stadium 09:35
    • Reds v Sunwolves, Suncorp Stadium 11:45


    20 April 2019
    19 April 2019
    13 April 2019
    12 April 2019
    06 April 2019
    05 April 2019
    30 March 2019
    29 March 2019
    24 March 2019
    23 March 2019
    22 March 2019
    16 March 2019
    15 March 2019
    09 March 2019
    08 March 2019
    02 March 2019
    01 March 2019
    23 February 2019
    22 February 2019
    16 February 2019
    15 February 2019


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Lions (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Jaguares
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.