LIVE

    Mallett agrees with penalty try decision

    2016-03-14 08:00

    Cape Town - Former Springbok coach Nick Mallett feels the penalty try awarded to the Sharks in their 18-13 Super Rugby win against the Stormers was the correct decision.

    The Sharks were awarded a controversial penalty try early in the second half of the match at Newlands after television match official Marius Jonker deemed that Stormers flank Siya Kolisi kicked the ball out of Sharks scrumhalf Cobus Reinach’s hands as he attempted to dot the ball down.

    Speaking in the SuperSport studio afterwards, Mallett said: “I thought the game turned on the yellow-card incident with Siya Kolisi. I don't believe he was deliberately kicking the ball (out of Cobus Reinach's hands). It was just bad luck. Those are the laws and I have no complaints about the referee's decision (to award a penalty try). The ball did go down on his foot and possession was lost. You're not allowed to kick the ball out of a player's hands.”

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Fixtures

    Saturday, 13 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00
    Saturday, 20 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00

    Logs

    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Sharks (Q)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Bulls
    • Lions

    Opinion Poll

    Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.