Kings name team for Bulls clash

    2016-04-07 13:49

    Port Elizabeth - Southern Kings head coach, Deon Davids has made a number of changes to his side ahead of their Vodacom Super Rugby clash against the Bulls on Saturday.

    The Southern Kings forward pack remains relatively unchanged, with one change in the tight five. Tom Botha moves from the bench to replace Jacobie Adriaanse, who is recovering from a rib injury. 

    Among the loose trio, Davids said the medical team had passed Chris Cloete on Thursday monring, after he had sustained a dislocated finger during the Sunwolves match.

    Cloete comes in for CJ Velleman, who moves to the bench after having started against the Sunwolves, in a rotational change. 

    Among the backs, scrumhalf Ntando Kebe moves to the bench, with James Hall, who has recovered from a neck injury, starting.

    Stefan Watermeyer moves to inside centre to replace Shane Gates, who is batting with a foot injury, and Lukhanyo Am comes in at outside centre. 

    Luzuko Vulindlu comes back from a light concussion to replace Siyanda Grey on wing, after Grey sustained a knee injury during the Sunwolves match.

    On the bench, the forwards pack includes replacement Justin Ackerman, in for Tom Botha who starts. 

    Davids said Elgar Watts was also out of contention for this week's game, after battling with a hamstring injury, and that the team were still evaluating either Leighton Eksteen or JP du Plessis as alternates.

    Saturday’s clash at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium is scheduled for 19:15.



    15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Luzuko Vulindlu, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Malcolm Jaer, 10 Louis Fouche, 9 James Hall, 8 Aidon Davis, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Chris Cloete, 5 JC Astle, 4 Steven Sykes (captain), 3 Tom Botha, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Sti Sithole

    Substitutes: 16 Martin Ferreira, 17 Schalk Ferreira, 18 Justin Ackerman, 19 Schalk Oelofse, 20 CJ Velleman, Engelbrecht , 21 Ntando Kebe, 22 Leighton Eksteen Eksteen/ JP Du Plessis, 23 Jaco van Tonder


    15 SP Marais, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Lappies Labuschagne, 5 RG Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Trevor Nyakane

    Substitutes: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Pierre Schoeman, 18 Werner Kruger, 19 Marvin Orie, 20 Roelof Smit, 21 Ivan van Zyl, 22 Francois Brummer, 23 Dan Kriel

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    Saturday, 17 February 2018
    • Stormers v Jaguares, Cape Town 15:05
    • Lions v Sharks, Emirates Airlines Park 17:15
    Friday, 23 February 2018
    • Highlanders v Blues, 08:35
    • Rebels v Reds, AAMI Park 10:45
    Saturday, 24 February 2018
    • Sunwolves v Brumbies, Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium 06:15
    • Crusaders v Chiefs, 08:35
    • Waratahs v Stormers, Allianz Stadium 10:45
    • Lions v Jaguares, Emirates Airlines Park 15:05
    • Bulls v Hurricanes, Loftus Versfeld 17:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    The 2017 Super Rugby tournament has reached its quarter-final stage. When all is said and done, who emerges victorious?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.