Kings crash to defeat in Brisbane

    2017-04-15 08:56

    Cape Town - The Reds have beaten the Kings in their Vodacom Super Rugby clash at the Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane on Saturday.

    As it happened: Reds v Kings

    The Reds won by 47-34 after leading 14-10 at half-time.

    Reds wing Eto Nabuli got the home side off to a stellar start scoring in the fifth minute with a try converted by flyhalf Quade Cooper.

    Chris Cloete got the Kings in the mix with a try, while skipper Lionel Cronje added a conversion and a penalty.

    Karmichael Hunt added a second try for the home side in the 28th minute. Cooper added the conversion and the teams went into half-time with the Reds leading 14-10.

    Things were looking up for the Kings at the break, but the cracks soon showed in their defence, as the Reds scored five tries in the second half.

    Flank George Smith scored a 43rd minute try in his 150th Super Rugby appearance, while Nabuli, Hunt and Izaia Perese each scored a brace for the Reds.

    Cooper then became the first Queenslander to score 800th Super Rugby points, as he kicked six conversions in the match.

    The Kings came back strongly towards the end of the second half and replied with four tries by scrumhalf Louis Schreuder, fullback Masixole Banda and a brace by wing Makazole Mapimpi. Cronje and Pieter-Steyn de Wet kicked a conversion apiece.

    The Reds are still in the chase as they picked up four points for their victory and are third in the Australian Conference, while the Kings remain at the bottom of the Africa Conference 2 standings.

    In next weekend's Round 9 action, the Kings travel to Sydney where they'll face the Waratahs (Friday, April 21 at 11:45 SA time), while the Reds have a bye.



    15 Karmichael Hunt, 14 Izaia Perese, 13 Samu Kerevi (captain), 12 Duncan Paia’aua, 11 Eto Nabuli, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 James Tuttle, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 George Smith, 6 Hendrik Tui, 5 Lukhan Tui, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Sam Talakai, 2 Alex Mafi, 1 Sef Fa’agase.

    Substitutes: 16 Andrew Ready, 17 Kirwan Sanday, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Kane Douglas, 20 Adam Korczyk, 21 Nick Frisby, 22 Hamish Stewart, 23 Chris Kuridrani


    15 Masixole Banda, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Berton Klaasen, 12 Luzuko Vulindlu, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Lionel Cronje (captain), 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Ruaan Lerm, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 Chris Cloete, 5 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 4 Mzwanele Zito, 3 Justin Forwood, 2 Michael Willemse, 1 Chris Heiberg

    Substitutes: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Schalk van der Merwe, 18 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 19 Irne Herbst, 20 Andisa Ntsila, 21 Johan Steyn, 22 Wandile Mjekevu, 23 Pieter-Steyn de Wet

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Friday, 27 April 2018
    • Hurricanes v Sunwolves, Westpac Stadium 09:35
    • Stormers v Rebels, Cape Town 15:05
    Saturday, 28 April 2018
    • Reds v Lions, Suncorp Stadium 07:05
    • Blues v Jaguares, Eden Park 09:35
    • Brumbies v Crusaders, GIO Stadium 11:45
    • Bulls v Highlanders, Loftus Versfeld 17:15
    Friday, 04 May 2018
    • Chiefs v Jaguares, Rotorua International Stadium 09:35
    • Rebels v Crusaders, AAMI Park 11:45


    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.