LIVE

    Kaplan disagrees with penalty try

    2016-03-14 09:25

    Cape Town - Retired South African referee Jonathan Kaplan disagrees with the penalty try awarded to the Sharks in their 18-13 Super Rugby win against the Stormers at Newlands this past weekend.

    READ: I'm 100% correct, insists Jonker

    The Sharks were awarded a controversial penalty try early in the second half of the match at Newlands after television match official Marius Jonker deemed that Stormers flank Siya Kolisi kicked the ball out of Sharks scrumhalf Cobus Reinach’s hands as he attempted to dot the ball down.

    According to Law 10.2 (a), “A penalty try must be awarded if the offence prevents a try that would probably otherwise have been scored. A player who prevents a try being scored through foul play must either be cautioned and temporarily suspended or sent off.”

    However, it was debatable whether Kolisi’s actions were intentional and according to Kaplan, Reinach could also have been penalised for using his left arm to propel himself forward.

    Kaplan commented on the matter via his official Twitter account and also felt that it was questionable that Kolisi’s actions could be deemed as a kick in the first instance.

    Kaplan said Jonker did not look at the intentions of Kolisi, and from the evidence provided it is unclear that Kolisi ever had any intention to kick the ball out of Reinach’s grasp.

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Fixtures

    Saturday, 13 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00
    Saturday, 20 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00

    Logs

    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Sharks (Q)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Bulls
    • Lions

    Opinion Poll

    Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.