JP to captain Sharks, Lambie could return

    2016-07-13 13:06

    Cape Town - The Sharks have made six changes to their starting line-up to take on the Sunwolves in Durban on Friday.

    In the pack, Thomas du Toit replaces captain Tendai Mtawarira at loosehead prop as the Sharks coaching staff feel the skipper needs a a complete break after a gruelling couple of months in Super Rugby and for the Springboks. 

    Mtawarira drops completely out of the squad while veteran Springbok JP Pietersen will lead the side from outside centre.

    Pat Lambie, who has been absent with a concussion since June 11, has been bracketed on the bench alongside Curwin Bosch. 

    Lambie will undergo further tests this week before a decision on his availability is made. 

    Chiliboy Ralepelle will start at hooker as Franco Marais also gets a full on break. Stephan Lewies will move to the bench as Ruan Botha takes his place and Tera Mthembu replaces Jean-Luc du Preez at blindside flank.

    In the back-line, Odwa Ndungane will start on the right wing while Sibusiso Sithole drops completely out of the squad and Stefan Ungerer will don the nine jersey as Michael Claassens provides cover from the bench. 



    15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 JP Pietersen (c), 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Garth April, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Tera Mtembu, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Thomas du Toit 

    Substitutes: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Stefan Lewies, 20 Jean Deysel, 21 Michael Claassens, 22 Curwin Bosch/Pat Lambie, 23 Heimar Williams



    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Saturday, 17 February 2018
    • Stormers v Jaguares, Cape Town 15:05
    • Lions v Sharks, Emirates Airlines Park 17:15
    Friday, 23 February 2018
    • Highlanders v Blues, 08:35
    • Rebels v Reds, AAMI Park 10:45
    Saturday, 24 February 2018
    • Sunwolves v Brumbies, Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium 06:15
    • Crusaders v Chiefs, 08:35
    • Waratahs v Stormers, Allianz Stadium 10:45
    • Lions v Jaguares, Emirates Airlines Park 15:05
    • Bulls v Hurricanes, Loftus Versfeld 17:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    The 2017 Super Rugby tournament has reached its quarter-final stage. When all is said and done, who emerges victorious?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.