Jordie Barrett left out of NZ Under-20 squad

    2017-05-09 11:16

    Cape Town - New Zealand Under-20s head coach Craig Philpott has named the 28-man squad hoping to win back the World Rugby Under-20 Championship in Georgia.

    According to the Stuff website, as expected, Jordie Barrett, who turned 20 in February, will not join the squad because of his Super Rugby commitments with the Hurricanes and potentially the All Blacks for the Lions series.

    Waikato's Luke Jacobson will captain the Baby Blacks for the tournament starting later this month after leading the side on the Gold Coast, where they retained the Oceania title by beating Fiji, Samoa and Australia - the latter 43-6 on Sunday.

    "All 32 players we took on the successful Oceania Tournament campaign last week put their hands up for World Championship selection, and all merited the opportunity to wear the black jersey in Georgia," Philpott said.

    "We had to make some tough calls and no doubt there will be some disappointed players."

    Seven of the Baby Blacks squad that finished fifth in the rugby world championships last year in England have been picked again.

    The squad will assemble in Mount Maunganui this week and will travel to Georgia on May 24.

    Their pool matches are against Scotland on May 31, Italy on June 4 and Ireland on June 8.

    New Zealand squad for the World Rugby Under-20 Championship in Georgia:


    Asafo Aumua (Wellington), Sam Caird (Waikato), Adrian Choat (Auckland), Tom Christie (Canterbury), Ryan Coxon (Waikato), Tim Farrell (Hawke's Bay), Alex Fidow (Wellington), Luke Jacobson (captain - Waikato), Ezekiel Lindenmuth (Auckland), Marino Mikaele-Tuu (Hawke's Bay), Dalton Papalii (Auckland), Jacob Pierce (Auckland), John Sauni (Auckland), Samuel Slade (Auckland), Pouri Rakete-Stones (Hawke's Bay), Isaia Walker-Leawere (Wellington)


    Caleb Clarke (Auckland), Ereatara Enari (vc) (Canterbury), Braydon Ennor (Canterbury), Tima Faingaanuku (Tasman), Tiaan Falcon (Hawke's Bay), Will Jordan (Tasman), Kemara Hauiti-Parapara (Wellington), Orbyn Leger (Counties Manukau), Josh McKay (Canterbury), Jona Nareki (Otago), Tamati Tua (Northland), Thomas Umaga-Jensen (Wellington)

    Read More On:  jordie barrett rugby

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Saturday, 22 February 2020
    • Rebels v Sharks, Mars Stadium 05:45
    • Chiefs v Brumbies, FMG Stadium Waikato 08:05
    • Reds v Sunwolves, Suncorp Stadium 10:15
    • Stormers v Jaguares, Cape Town 15:05
    • Bulls v Blues, Loftus Versfeld 17:15
    Friday, 28 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Rebels, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Waratahs v Lions, Bankwest Stadium 10:15
    Saturday, 29 February 2020
    • Hurricanes v Sunwolves, McLean Park 05:45
    • Reds v Sharks, Suncorp Stadium 10:15
    • Stormers v Blues, Cape Town 15:05
    • Bulls v Jaguares, Loftus Versfeld 17:15


    21 February 2020
    16 February 2020
    15 February 2020
    14 February 2020
    09 February 2020
    08 February 2020
    07 February 2020
    02 February 2020
    01 February 2020
    31 January 2020


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Stormers (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Lions
    • Bulls

    Opinion Poll

    After 3 weeks of Super Rugby action, which South African team appears most likely to challenge for overall honours?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.