Jaguares stun Chiefs for clean sweep Down Under

    2018-05-04 11:26

    Cape Town - The Jaguares have stunned the Chiefs in Hamilton to make it four out of four on their Australasian tour.

    The Argentines, who scored two tries to one from the hosts, were full value for their win as they emerged 23-19 victors. 

    It means that they have beaten New Zealand opposition, in New Zealand, twice in as many weeks following last weekend's triumph over the Blues. 

    Wins in Melbourne against the Rebels and then in Canberra against the Brumbies came first, leaving the Jaguares with a perfect record as their tour Down Under comes to an end. 

    The Chiefs relied on four Damian McKenzie penalties to take a 12-10 lead into half-time, but they did not fire in the second half thanks largely to the fact that they were reduced to 13 men at one stage. 

    Mistakes plagued the hosts throughout the contest, but the Jaguares defended like trojans while, on attack, they were physical and clinical. 

    The win means that the Jags solidify 2nd place in the South African Conference while they move up to 7th overall. 

    The Chiefs, meanwhile, stay 4th in the New Zealand Conference and 6th overall. 


    Chiefs 19 (12)

    Try: Jesse Parete

    Conversion: Damian McKenzie

    Penalties: McKenzie (4)

    Jaguares 23 (10)

    Tries: Ramiro Moyano, Penalty Try

    Conversions: Nicolas Sanchez

    Penalties: Emiliano Boffelli, Sanchez (2)



    15 Charlie Ngatai (co-captain), 14 Toni Pulu, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Alex Nankivell, 11 Solomon Alaimalo, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 8 Liam Messam, 7 Sam Cane (co-captain), 6 Luke Jacobson, 5 Tyler Ardron, 4 Michael Allardice, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Liam Polwart, 1 Karl Tu’inukuafe 

    Substitutes: 16 Nathan Harris, 17 Sam Prattley, 18 Jeff Thwaites, 19 Brodie Retallick, 20 Jesse Parete, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Marty McKenzie, 23 Levi Aumua


    15 Joaquin Tuculet (captain), 14 Ramiro Moyano, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Jeronimo De La Fuente, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Tomas Lezana, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti Pagadizaval, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Julian Montoya, 1 Santiago Garcia Botta

    Substitutes: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Javier Manuel Diaz, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Matias Alemanno, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 Juan Cruz Mallia


    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.