Jaguares strengthen grip on SA Conference with win over Reds

    2019-06-01 13:29

    Cape Town - The Jaguares strengthened their position atop the South African Conference with a bonus-point victory over the Reds in Brisbane on Saturday.

    As it happened: Reds v Jaguares

    The Argentine side won 34-23, after leading 15-13 at half-time.

    The Jaguares' seventh victory in eight games stretched their lead to seven points in the South African Conference with two games left, keeping them on track for a historic home quarter-final in Buenos Aires.

    Centre Chris Feauai-Sautia gave the Reds an early lead with a converted try after skipper Samu Kerevi shrugged off two tackles and made the offload.

    But the Jaguares slowly took charge and winger Santiago Carreras used fancy footwork to keep the ball in play before bagging his maiden Super Rugby try, then scrumhalf Felipe Ezcurra dived over for another.

    It sent them into the break with a 15-13 lead and 10 minutes into the restart Julian Montoya crashed over from a maul after a 16-phase attack to put further in front. 

    Their fourth try, from replacement flanker Marcos Kremer with 10 minutes remaining, was followed by winger Jock Campbell pulling one back for the Reds before the win was sealed with an intercept try from Carreras in the dying seconds.

    "We're very happy we got the result," said Jaguares flanker Pablo Matera. "The first half we missed some important tackles, but in the second half we were ok and knew if we stuck to our game we would get the victory."



    Tries: Chris Feauai-Sautia, Jock Campbell

    Conversions: Bryce Hegarty (2)

    Penalties: Hegarty (3)


    Tries: Santiago Carreras (2), Felipe Ezcurra, Julian Montoya, Marcos Kremer

    Conversions: Joaquín Díaz Bonilla (3)

    Penalty: Díaz Bonilla



    15 Bryce Hegarty, 14 Jock Campbell, 13 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 12 Samu Kerevi (captain), 11 Filipo Daugunu, 10 Matt McGahan, 9 Tate McDermott, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 Liam Wright, 6 Angus Scott-Young, 5 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 4 Angus Blyth, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 JP Smith.

    Substitutes: 16 Alex Mafi, 17 Ruan Smith, 18 Gav Luka, 19 Harry Hockings, 20 Adam Korczyk, 21 Scott Malolua, 22 Duncan Paia’aua, 23 Hamish Stewart.


    15 Juan Cruz Mallia, 14 Santiago Carreras, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Matias Orlando (captain), 11 Ramiro Moyano, 10 Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, 9 Felipe Ezcurra, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Tomas Lezana, 6 Guido Petti, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Lucas Paulos, 3 Lucio Sordoni, 2 Agustín Creevy, 1 Nahiel Tetaz Chaparro

    Substitutes: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Mayco Vivas, 18 Enrique Pieretto, 19 Marcos Kremer, 20 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 21 Pablo Matera, 22 Tomas Cubelli, 23 Jeronimo de le Fuente

    Read More On:  reds jaguares super rugby rugby

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Most Read


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.