Jaguares make enterprising Kings pay for their mistakes

    2017-02-25 19:04

    Cape Town - The Jaguares pulled clear in the second half in Port Elizabeth to ultimately defeat the Kings 39-26 at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

    As it happened: Kings v Jaguares

    This was an excellent result on the road for the Jaguares considering the high number of their top players sidelined through injury, including regular starting half-backs Martín Landajo and Nicolás Sánchez.

    After a tense first half the Jaguares finally pulled away thanks to scores from Leonardo Senatore and Joaquín Tuculet, although Makazole Mapimpi's score in response did manage to take away the try bonus point for the visitors.

    Despite their best efforts late on the Jaguares couldn't find the try required to regain the three-try advantage for that attacking bonus point, but Raul Pérez will be happy overall with this first run-out ahead of facing the Stormers next weekend.

    Joaquín Díaz Bonilla opened the scoring after three minutes with a penalty, Lionel Cronje swiftly responding for the Kings, and it was through the home side's number ten that the Kings took the lead as two quick penalties made it 9-3.

    The Jaguares duly responded through the game's first try, the ever-dangerous Santiago Cordero splitting the defence before setting up Gonzalo Bertranou. Bonilla's conversion made it 10-9.

    A penalty for offside against the Jaguares then allowed the Kings to back ahead through Cronje's fourth penalty.

    But the home side were left down to 14 men after a knee in the back from Ross Geldenhuys was referred to the TMO, with the Kings tighthead spending ten minutes in the bin.

    Bonilla's converted the resulting penalty and another in the 34th minute to give the Jaguares some breathing space.

    And more points then came despite the flyhalf going off for a concussion test, thanks to his replacement Santiago González Iglesias knocking over three more points right before the break to make it 19-12 to the Jaguares at half-time.

    Despite the deficit the Kings were far from out of the contest by the interval, but two Iglesias' penalties extended the gap for the Jaguares to 13 points at 25-12.

    Suddenly the Jaguares seemed to put the contest to bed with two quick tries, brilliantly executed by attacking from deep.

    The first saw veteran number eight Senatore race clear after being set up by Tuculet, and the fullback soon followed him over after a brilliant chip over the top from Cordero. Both scores were converted by Iglesias to make it 39-12, seemingly putting the Jaguares out of sight.

    Makazole Mapimpi did give the home crowd something to cheer as he raced clear to score the Kings first try, showing good speed, and any chance of a smooth finish to the game for the Jaguares was taken away after Felipe Ezcurra's yellow card.

    Mapimpi came close to a second score, only to be bundled into touch, as the Jaguares lost Matías Moroni to another late yellow card.

    From the resulting penalty the Kings kicked to the corner and grabbed a consolation through Luzuko Vulindlu, converted by Cronje, although it meant little in the overall context of the game.


    Kings 26

    Tries: Makazole Mapimpi, Luzuko Vulindlu

    Conversion: Lionel Cronje (2)

    Penalties: Lionel Cronje (4)

    Jaguares 39

    Tries: Gonzalo Bertranou, Gonzalo Bertranou,Leonardo Senatore

    Conversions: Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias (2)

    Penalties: Joaquin Diaz Bonilla (3), Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias (3)



    15 Chrysander Botha, 14 Makazole Mapimpi, 13 Berton Klaasen, 12 Waylon Murray, 11 Malcolm Jaer, 10 Lionel Cronje, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Ruan Lerm, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Mzwanele Zito, 4 Irne Herbst, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Michael Willemse, 1 Schalk Ferreira (captain)

    Substitutes: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Schalk van der Merwe, 18 Chris Heiberg, 19 Tyler Paul, 20 Chris Cloete, 21 Rudi van Rooyen, 22 Masixole 'Coyi' Banda, 23 Luzuko Vulindlu


    15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Matías Orlando, 13 Matías Moroni, 12 Jerónimo de la Fuente, 11 Santiago Cordero, 10 Joaquín Díaz Bonilla, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Pablo Matera, 6 Tomás Lezana, 5 Matías Alemanno, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Felipe Arregui, 2 Agustín Creevy (captain), 1 Lucas Noguera Paz

    Substitutes: 16 Julián Montoya, 17 Santiago García Botta, 18 Cristian Bartoloni, 19 Marcos Kremer, 20 Rodrigo Báez, 21 Felipe Ezcurra, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Ramiro Moyano

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    04 August 2018
    28 July 2018
    21 July 2018
    20 July 2018
    14 July 2018
    13 July 2018
    07 July 2018
    06 July 2018
    30 June 2018
    29 June 2018
    03 June 2018
    02 June 2018
    01 June 2018
    26 May 2018
    25 May 2018
    19 May 2018
    18 May 2018
    12 May 2018
    11 May 2018
    05 May 2018
    04 May 2018
    28 April 2018
    27 April 2018
    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Lions (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Stormers
    • Bulls

    Opinion Poll

    Who will win the 2018 Rugby Championships?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.