Jaguares claim hard fought away win over Brumbies

    2018-04-22 10:00

    Cape Town - The Jaguares continued with their impressive recent form when they claimed a deserved 25-20 win over the Brumbies in Canberra on Sunday.

    In a fast-paced and exciting game, both sides scored three tries apiece although the Jaguares were full value for their win as they committed less unforced errors. 

    The result means the Jaguares move into fourth position on the South African Conference table while the Brumbies are still in third place in the Australian Conference.

    The Jaguares were fastest out of the blocks and raced into a 13-0 lead inside the opening quarter. The men from Buenos Aires made a terrific start and after taking the ball through 18 phases, they opened the scoring in the fifth minute when Matias Orlando crossed for the opening try.

    Nicolas Sanchez added the extras and extended his side's lead with two well-taken penalties in quick succession after Rory Arnold and Folau Fainga’a were blown up for illegal play on defence.

    The Brumbies were slowly getting into the game but despite several forays into the Jaguares' half, they battled to make an impact on attack. 

    On the half-hour mark, they launched a line-out drive on the Jaguares' five metre line and although Fainga’a dotted down under a mass of bodies, referee Angus Gardner ruled that he was just short of the try-line.

    Despite that setback, the Brumbies continued to attack and five minutes later Tom Banks went over for an easy try when he collected a pass from Wharenui Hawera deep inside the Jaguares' 22.

    And on the stroke of half-time, they narrowed the gap when Banks crossed for his second try after gathering a perfectly weighted grubber kick from Hawera behind the visitors' defence.

    Hawera was off target with both conversion attempts which meant the match was evenly poised at the interval with the Jaguares holding a 13-10 lead.

    The second half started cautiously with both sides more conservative in their approach although the Jaguares suffered a setback in the 48th minute when Emiliano Boffelli was yellow carded for taking Henry Speight out in an aerial challenge close to the halfway mark.

    Despite being a man down, the Jaguares did well to keep the Brumbies at bay and actually dominated the next 10 minutes. They were rewarded in the 58th minute when Jeronimo De La Fuente rounded off in the left-hand corner after Leonardo Senatore was stopped just short of the Brumbies try-line in the build-up.

    The Brumbies toiled for a response and after taking the ball through several phases inside the Jaguares' 22, Chance Peni shrugged off three defenders before crossing for his side's third try.

    Hawera slotted the conversion which meant the Jaguares held a 20-17 lead but that score did not deter the visitors who continued to attack.

    And in the 71st minute that ploy paid off again when Sanchez and Bautista Ezcurra created space for Boffelli, who went over for their third try which Sanchez converted to seal his side's win.

    The Brumbies upped the ante on attack in the game's closing stages and secured a losing bonus point with the final act of the match when Hawera added a penalty after the visitors strayed offside on defence.



    Tries: Thomas Banks (2), Chance Peni

    Conversion: Wharenui Hawera

    Penalty: Wharenui Hawera


    Tries: Matias Orlando, Jeronimo De La Fuente, Emiliano Boffelli

    Conversions: Nicolas Sanchez (2)

    Penalties: (2)



    15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Chance Peni, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 David Pocock, 6 Tom Cusack, 5 Sam Carter (captain), 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 Scott Sio

    Substitutes16 Robbie Abel, 17 Nick Mayhew, 18 Mees Erasmus, 19 Darcy Swain, 20 Michael Oakman-Hunt, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Jordan Jackson-Hope, 23 Andrew Smith


    15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Ramiro Moyano, 13 Matías Orlando, 12 Jerónimo de le Fuente, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Javier Ortega Deseo, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera (captain), 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustín Creevy, 1 Santiago García Botta

    Substitutes: Julián Montoya, 17 Javier Díaz, 18 Juan Pablo Zeiss, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Martín Landajo, 22 Bautista Ezcurra, 23 Bautista Delguy

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    04 August 2018
    28 July 2018
    21 July 2018
    20 July 2018
    14 July 2018
    13 July 2018
    07 July 2018
    06 July 2018
    30 June 2018
    29 June 2018
    03 June 2018
    02 June 2018
    01 June 2018
    26 May 2018
    25 May 2018
    19 May 2018
    18 May 2018
    12 May 2018
    11 May 2018
    05 May 2018
    04 May 2018
    28 April 2018
    27 April 2018
    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Lions (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Stormers
    • Bulls

    Opinion Poll

    Who will win the 2018 Rugby Championships?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.