Impressive Sharks overpower 'Canes

    2016-05-07 16:47

    Cape Town - The Sharks got their season moving in the right direction once more with a solid 32-15 win over the Hurricanes in Durban on Saturday. 

    In one of their best displays of the season, the Sharks scored 4 tries to 2 by the visitors. 


    JP Pietersen crossed scored two tries either side of half time, while scrumhalf Michael Claassen's and No 8 Dan du Preez scored the third and fourth respectively. 

    The Hurricanes played with plenty of attacking enterprise in the first half and the Sharks defence was made to soak up a lot of pressure. 

    After Garth April and Beauden Barrett had exchanged penalties, the Sharks wall eventually broke in the 30th minute when loosehead prop Reg Goodes finished off a series of probing Hurricanes attacks. 

    The Sharks, probably second best in the opening period, leveled matters just before half time when Pietersen scored in the corner following a sustained period of Sharks pressure and the score was 8-8 at the break.

    Pietersen had his second just after the restart when he pounced on a loose pass from Brad Shields - stabbing the kick ahead before diving over the line. 

    The third try came through Claassens - the scrumhalf taking a quick tap penalty to catch the Hurricanes on their heels. 

    Daniel du Preez then scored the Sharks' fourth try after they had bossed a 5m scrum, but Hurricanes fullback James Marshall then sliced through the defence to score and take away the Sharks' bonus point.

    There was a warm applause from the Durban crowd as they welcomed back Pat Lambie from injury in the 54th minute.


    Sharks 32 (8)

    Tries: JP Pietersen (2), Michael Claassens, Dan du Preez

    Conversions: Garth April (2), Pat Lambie

    Penalties: April, Lambie 

    Hurricanes 15 (8)

    Try: Reg Goods, James Marshall

    Conversion: Jason Woodward

    Penalty: Beauden Barrett


    15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12, Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, Garth April, 9 Michael Claassen, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Stephen Lewies, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Tendai Mtawarira (captain)

    Substitutes: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 Thomas du Toit, 19 Hyron Andrews, 20 Jean Deysel, 21 Stefan Ungerer, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Odwa Ndungane


    15 James Marshall, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Vince Aso, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Brad Shields, 5 Michael Fatialofa, 4 Vaea Fifita, 3 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 2 Dane Coles (captain), 1 Reg Goodes

    Substitutes: 16 Motu Matu'u, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Ben May, 19 Mark Abbott, 20 Blade Thomson, 21 Jamison Gibson-Park, 22 Willis Halaholo, 23 Jason Woodward

    Read More On:  sharks english premiership rugby

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights


    Friday, 15 February 2019
    • Chiefs v Highlanders, FMG Stadium Waikato 08:35
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:45
    Saturday, 16 February 2019
    • Blues v Crusaders, Eden Park 08:35
    • Waratahs v Hurricanes, Allianz Stadium 10:45
    • Sunwolves v Sharks, Chichibunomiya Rugby Stadium 12:55
    • Bulls v Stormers, Loftus Versfeld 17:15
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 22 February 2019
    • Highlanders v Reds, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:35


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    Who will win the 2018 Rugby Championships?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.