Hurricanes show class in downing Blues

    2018-05-11 11:18

    Cape Town - The Hurricanes moved to the top of the Super Rugby standings with victory over the Blues in their New Zealand derby at Eden Park in Auckland on Friday.

    As it happened: Blues v Hurricanes

    The Hurricanes won 36-15 after leading 14-8 at half-time.

    The Hurricanes, looking to repeat as champions following their success in 2016, scored five tries through impressive hooker Ricky Riccitelli, No 8 Gareth Evans, fullback Nehe Milner-Skudder, lock Sam Lousi and centre Matt Proctor. Flyhalf Beauden Barrett was on target with four conversions as well as a penalty.

    The Blues, who competed well at times and led in fact during the first half, scored two tries through centre Orbyn Leger and prop Ofa Tu'ungafasi. Flyhalf Stephen Perofeta added a conversion and a penalty.

    The Hurricanes picked up a full-house of five points for their victory and moved to the top of both the New Zealand Conference and the Overall log.

    For the Blues it was back to the drawing board after they left empty-handed and remained bottom of the NZ Conference and 13th in the Overall standings.

    In next weekend's Round 14 action, the Hurricanes host the Reds in Wellington (Friday, May 18 at 09:35 SA time), while the Blues welcome the Crusaders to Auckland (Saturday, May 19 at 09:35 SA time).



    Tries: Orbyn Leger, Ofa Tu'ungafasi

    Conversion: Stephen Perofeta

    Penalty: Perofeta


    Tries: Ricky Riccitelli, Gareth Evans, Nehe Milner-Skudder, Sam Lousi

    Conversions: Beauden Barrett (4)

    Penalty: Barrett



    15 Matt Duffie, 14 Rieko Ioane, 13 Orbyn Leger, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Caleb Clarke, 10 Stephen Perofeta, 9 Augustine Pulu (captain), 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Murphy Taramai, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu, 3 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 2 James Parsons, 1 Ross Wright

    Substitutes: 16 Matt Moulds, 17 Pauliasi Manu, 18 Sione Mafileo, 19 Ben Nee-Nee, 20 Kara Pryor, 21 Jonathan Ruru, 22 Dan Kirkpatrick, 23 Melani Nanai


    15 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 14 Julian Savea, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Finlay Christie, 8 Gareth Evans, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Brad Shields (captain), 5 Sam Lousi, 4 Vaea Fifita, 3 Jeff To'omaga-Allen, 2 Ricky Riccitelli, 1 Toby Smith

    Substitutes: 16 James O'Reilly, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Ben May, 19 Michael Fatialofa, 20 Blade Thomson, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Ihaia West, 23 Jordie Barrett

    Read More On:  blues hurricanes super rugby rugby

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.