Hurricanes show class in beating Brumbies

    2017-04-21 11:17

    Garrin Lambley - Sport24 Editor

    Cape Town - The defending champion Hurricanes displayed their Vodacom Super Rugby title class in defeating the Brumbies in their clash in Wellington on Friday.

    As it happened: Hurricanes v Brumbies

    The Hurricanes won 56-21 after trailing 21-14 at half-time.

    The Hurricanes scored eight tries through centres Vince Aso (3) and Ngani Laumape, wing Cory Jane, lock Mark Abbott and replacement loose forward Callum Gibbins (2). Fullback Jordie Barrett had a perfect night with the boot, landing seven conversions, while replacement Otere Black added a late two-pointer of his own.

    The Brumbies were down 14-0 early, but rebounded with three tries - by centre Tevita Kuridrani, lock Sam Carter and scrumhalf Joe Powell - in a seven minute spell at take the lead at the break. New Zealand-born flyhalf Wharenui Hawera added all three conversions.

    The Hurricanes picked up a full-house of five points for their victory and moved to the top of the New Zealand Conference.

    The Brumbies left empty-handed, but remained top of the Australian Conference, a staggering 16 points behind the Hurricanes.

    In next week's Round 10 action, the Hurricanes have a bye while the Brumbies welcome the Blues to Canberra (Sunday, April 30 at 08:05 SA time).



    15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Vince Aso, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 8 Blade Thomson, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Brad Shields (captain), 5 Vaea Fifita, 4 Mark Abbott, 3 Jeffery To'omaga-Allen, 2 Ricky Riccitelli, 1 Ben May

    Substitutes: 16 Leni Apisai, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Mike Kainga, 19 James Blackwell, 20 Callum Gibbins, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Otere Black, 23 Ben Lam


    15 Aidan Toua, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Andrew Smith, 11 James Dargaville, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Jarrad Butler, 7 Chris Alcock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter (captain), 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Josh Mann-Rea, Scott Sio

    Substitutes:16 Robbie Abel, 17 Nic Mayhew, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 Blake Enever, 20 Lolo Fakaosilea, 21 De Wet Roos, 22 Jordan Jackson-Hope, 23 Nigel Ah Wong

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Most Read


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.