Highlanders see off plucky Waratahs

    2017-05-27 11:20

    Cape Town - The Highlanders climbed to third place on the New Zealand conference with a 44-28 win over the Waratahs in Dunedin on Saturday.

    Tries from Richard Buckman, Liam Coltman, Tevita Li, Rob Thompson, Daniel Lienert-Brown and Lima Sopoaga for the Highlanders proved too much for the Waratahs, who scored through Israel Folau, Taqele Naiyaravoro and a brace from Jake Gordon.

    The Waratahs were unlucky to have a player harshly sin-binned in Dean Mumm which definitely changed the course of the game. The Aussie side actually produced one of their best performances of the season and deserved more from the game, only to fall short.

    However, it was not to be. And the 'Tahs' chances of catching the Brumbies at the top of the Australian Conference have been dealt another blow.

    Marty Banks notched a penalty after 10 minutes as minor consolation for the Highlanders' early dominance. Soon they had more of a tangible reward when Bernard Foley's attempted clearance was charged down by Luke Whitelock and the ball bounced kindly for Buckman who had the essy task of dotting down in the 17th minute. Banks converted to make it 10-0.

    But the Waratahs responded almost immediately. Folau did brilliantly to get on the outside of Elliot Dixon, fending him off in the process and cruising over unopposed for the away side's first try. Foley added the extras to cut the deficit to three.

    Banks added another three from the tee five minutes before half-time after the Highlanders won a scrum penalty to make it 13-7.

    Soon after, Ben Smith knocked on when receiving a Foley penalty under the posts that narrowly missed which meant the Waratahs had a five-metre scrum just to the right of centre.

    From the scrum, they executed a wonderful set-piece move as scrum-half Nick Phipps passed back to Foley who immediately pinged the ball out on to the right touchline for wing Naiyaravoro to bash over before dotting down just inside the field of play. Foley's conversion ensured the Waratahs took a 14-13 lead in to the break.

    The Waratahs started the second half well but were unlucky to have Mumm yellow-carded for what seemed harshly adjudged to be a dangerous tackle. From the resulting penalty, the Highlanders kicked for touch. They cleverly went for the driving maul, exposing the Tahs' numerical disadvantage, driving them back before Coltman went over at the back of the maul as the home side regained their lead.

    However, five minutes later, Malakai Fekitoa produced a pinpoint kick for Li to run on to to dot down in the 50th minute to make the score 23-14 to the Highlanders.

    In the last quarter, the away side began to tire and the Highlanders pounced. Thompson, on as a substitute for Li, went over to get his side's fourth try. Sopoaga, on to replace Banks, added the extras to make it 30-14 after 65 minutes.

    In response, the 'Tahs got one back through Gordon, showing some character with a good team try making it 30-21 with nine minutes to go.

    A wonderful break from Sopoaga started the move that led to the Highlanders' fifth try. He offloaded to Ben Smith before Siosuia Halanukonuka burst through and was halted just inches from the line. But Lienert-Brown's pick and go saw him going over the line with ease.

    Waisake Naholo was the creator for the sixth try bumping off a defender before setting Sopoaga free to dot down. Sopoaga converted to make it 44-21.

    The Tahs' had the last laugh, however, when Gordon dotted down for his second, but it was too little too late.


    Highlanders 44 (13)

    Tries: Richard Buckman, Liam Coltman, Tevita Li, Rob Thompson, Dan Lienert-Brown, Lima Sopoaga

    Conversions: Marty Banks, Lima Sopoaga (3)

    Penalties: Banks (2)

    Waratahs 28 (14)

    Tries: Israel Folau, Taqele Naiyaravoro, Jake Gordon (2)

    Conversions: Bernard Foley (4)



    15 Ben Smith (co-captain), 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Richard Buckman, 11 Tevita Li, 10 Marty Banks, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Dillon Hunt, 6 Elliot Dixon, 5 Tom Franklin, 4 Alex Ainley, 3 Siate Tokolahi, 2 Liam Coltman, 1 Aki Seiuli

    Substitutes: 16 Ash Dixon (co-captain), 17 Daniel Lienert-Brown, 18 Siosuia Halanukonuka, 19 Joe Wheeler, 20 Gareth Evans, 21 Kayne Hammington, 22 Lima Sopoaga, 23 Rob Thompson


    15 Israel Folau, 14 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 13 Rob Horne, 12 David Horwitz, 11 Cam Clark, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Ned Hanigan, 5 Will Skelton, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tolu Latu, 1 Tom Robertson

    Substitutes: 16 Damien Fitzpatrick, 17 Paddy Ryan, 18 Angus Taavao, 19 David McDuling, 20 Jed Holloway, 21 Jake Gordon, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Irae Simone

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    04 August 2018
    28 July 2018
    21 July 2018
    20 July 2018
    14 July 2018
    13 July 2018
    07 July 2018
    06 July 2018
    30 June 2018
    29 June 2018
    03 June 2018
    02 June 2018
    01 June 2018
    26 May 2018
    25 May 2018
    19 May 2018
    18 May 2018
    12 May 2018
    11 May 2018
    05 May 2018
    04 May 2018
    28 April 2018
    27 April 2018
    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Lions (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Stormers
    • Bulls

    Opinion Poll

    Who will win the 2018 Rugby Championships?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.