Highlanders loaded with All Blacks for 'Canes clash

    2018-05-30 09:08

    Cape Town - The Highlanders have named 10 current or past All Blacks in their starting line-up for their derby against the Hurricanes in Dunedin on Friday.

    In what promises to be a blockbuster of an occasion, the New Zealand Conference clash will give both teams the opportunity to throw everything at it in the last round robin game before the June Test break.

    After a series of good performances off the bench, front-row strong man Kalolo Tuiloma earns his first start of the season, while Liam Squire’s barnstorming effort against the Reds ensures a start on the blindside for the big All Black back-row.

    Luke Whitelock returns at No 8 with livewire scrumhalf Aaron Smith partnering Lima Sopoaga in the halves and talisman co-captain Ben Smith back calling the shots from fullback after a week away.

    Fresh from his selection in the All Blacks, versatile loose forward Shannon Frizell will have some very experienced company on the bench in the form of Liam Coltman, Elliot Dixon and Richard Buckman who have collectively tasted the half-time oranges in Super Rugby 216 times.

    The Highlanders will wear black armbands to acknowledge the passing of head coach Aaron Mauger’s mother.

    Kick-off is at 09:35 SA time.



    15 Ben Smith (co-captain), 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Rob Thompson, 12 Teihorangi Walden, 11 Tevita Li, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Dillon Hunt, 6 Liam Squire, 5 Tom Franklin, 4 Jackson Hemopo, 3 Kalolo Tuiloma, 2 Ash Dixon (co-captain), 1 Daniel Lienert-Brown 

    Substitutes: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Aki Seiuli, 18 Tyrel Lomax, 19 Shannon Frizell, 20 Elliot Dixon, 21 Josh Renton, 22 Josh Ioane, 23 Richard Buckman


    15 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 14 Julian Savea, 13 Jordie Barrett, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Gareth Evans, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Brad Shields (captain), 5 Sam Lousi, 4 Michael Fatialofa, 3 Jeff Toomaga-Allen, 2 Ricky Riccitelli, 1 Toby Smith 

    Substitutes: 16 James O'Reilly, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Ben May, 19 Vaea Fifita/Murray Douglas, 20 Blade Thomson, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Ihaia West, 23 Wes Goosen

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.