LIVE

    Highlanders centre cited for Retallick tackle

    2019-02-17 11:22

    Cape Town - Following initial consideration by the SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee, Sio Tomkinson of the Highlanders will appear at a SANZAAR Judicial Committee after receiving a red card during the Super Rugby opener between the Highlanders and Chiefs on Friday.

    Tomkinson was sent off for foul play during a Super Rugby match at the weekend, which saw the Highlanders secure a thrilling 30-27 win at at FMG Stadium Waikato in Hamilton.

    He was shown a straight red for his shoulder charge on Brodie Retallick, who said after the match that he was uninjured.

    Tomkinson is alleged to have contravened Law 9.13 Dangerous tackling and Law 9.16 Dangerous Charging.

    "Law 9.13: A player must not tackle an opponent early, late or dangerously. Dangerous tackling includes, but is not limited to, tackling or attempting to tackle an opponent above the line of the shoulders even if the tackle starts below the line of the shoulders; Law 9.16: A player must not charge or knock down an opponent carrying the ball without attempting to grasp that player."

    The case is to be considered in the first instance by the SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee which will take place on Sunday, February 17 2019, 9am (SAST), 6pm (AEDT), 8pm (NZDT) via video-conference.

    All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to the Foul Play Review Committee to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

    For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the Foul Play Review Committee.

    The Judicial Committee for the Hearing will be Michael Heron QC (Chairperson), De Wet Barry and John Langford which will be held by video conference on Tuesday, February 19, 8am (SAST), 5pm (AEDT), 7pm (NZDT).

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights

    Fixtures

    Friday, 22 March 2019
    • Blues v Highlanders, Eden Park 08:35
    Saturday, 23 March 2019
    • Hurricanes v Stormers, Westpac Stadium 08:35
    • Waratahs v Crusaders, Allianz Stadium 10:45
    • Sunwolves v Lions, Chichibunomiya Rugby Stadium 12:55
    • Bulls v Chiefs, Loftus Versfeld 15:05
    • Sharks v Rebels, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 17:15
    Sunday, 24 March 2019
    • Reds v Brumbies, Suncorp Stadium 07:05

    Logs

    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Lions (wc)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Jaguares

    Opinion Poll

    Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    TAKE THE QUIZ
    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.