Higginbotham joins Cooper, Moore at Reds

    2016-10-12 07:21

    Brisbane - Former Wallabies backrower Scott Higginbotham has signed a three-year deal to rejoin the Reds next season following completion of his contract in Japan.

    Higginbotham's return was confirmed on Wednesday when the Reds released their Super Rugby squad for 2017.

    The 32-Test veteran will join playmaker Quade Cooper and Wallaby captain Stephen Moore among the players returning to the Queensland franchise.

    Higginbotham played for the Rebels last season, while Cooper spent the year in France. Moore moves across from the Brumbies.

    Former Brumbies backrower and 111-Test veteran George Smith and Leroy Houston are among the other backrowers in the 38-man squad.

    New head coach Nick Stiles said: "We have managed to retain the best young talent in Queensland, while also recruiting some of the most experienced players in Australian Rugby. It's an exciting squad with experienced, hardened forwards and skillful backs as well as strong ball runners."

    Reds 2017 Super Rugby squad:

    Quade Cooper, Kane Douglas, Sef Fa’agase Chris Feauai-Sautia, Nick Frisby, Michael Gunn, Reece Hewat, Scott Higginbotham, Leroy Houston, Karmichael Hunt, Samu Kerevi, Adam Korczyk, Chris Kuridrani, Alex Mafi, Campbell Magnay, Lachlan Maranta, Jake McIntyre, Stephen Moore, Eto Nabuli, Cadeyrn Neville, Jayden Ngamanau, Duncan Paia’aua, Pettowa Paraka, Izaia Perese, Andrew Ready, Izack Rodda, Rob Simons, James Slipper, George Smith, Moses Sorovi, Henry Taefu, Sam Talakai, Caleb Timu, Hendrik Tui, Lukhan Tui, Taniela Tupou, James Tuttle, Markus Vanzanti

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.