Brumbies stun Bulls at Loftus

    2018-05-26 16:55

    Cape Town - The Brumbies claimed a 38-28 come-from-behind victory over the Bulls after having been reduced to 14 men at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria on Saturday. 

    Tries from Kyle Godwin, Lachlan McCaffrey, Folau Fainga’a, Tom Banks and Andrew Muirhead proved too much for the Bulls who scored through Handre Pollard, Johnny Kotze and Roelof Smit. 

    Try-scorer Fainga’a got sent off in the 60th minute which looked to sway the momentum in favour of the Bulls, but instead it galvanised the Brumbies, who sparked in to life, scoring two excellent tries in this period to complete a remarkable turnaround. 

    The Bulls opened the scoring in the fourth minute. After Kotze had made good ground down the left flank, the ball was recycled to Springbok flyhalf Pollard who got on the outside of Brumbies prop Scott Sio to break clean through the defence and dot down. 

    But the Brumbies bounced straight back from the restart. The Bulls spilt the ball from the Brumbies’ kick-off, with the visitors pouncing on the loose ball and making the Bulls pay with Godwin turning on the after-burners and sprinting all the way over the line. 

    Brumbies flyhalf Christian Lealiifano gave the visitors the lead for the first time in the match with a penalty after Bulls lock RG Snyman was penalised for taking out the scrumhalf off the ball. 

    Soon afterwards, the Bulls wrestled back the lead when flanker Smit ran a superb angle off to power his way over after Kotze had done well to get the Bulls deep in to Brumbies’ territory. Pollard’s conversion made it a 14-10 lead to the Bulls with 20 minutes gone. 

    The Bulls completely dominated the last quarter of the first half but were denied by some heroic Brumbies defending, with the Canberra outfit having to halt maul after maul as the Brumbies went in to the interval only trailing by four. 

    Three minutes after half-time, the Brumbies were in the lead. Joe Powell made a sniping dart off the back of the scrum, excellently spotting the open space and scything through the Bulls defence before getting the offload away for McCaffrey to finish. 

    But the Bulls hit back to take the restore the lead once again. Warrick Gelant created it, with his weaving run and pass setting Kotze clear down the left-hand touchline for his sixth try of the season. Pollard stretched the difference to eight points with a penalty after the Brumbies were penalised for tackling a player in the air. 

    Soon afterwards, the Brumbies responded when Fainga’a burst over from close range following a series of powerful carries from the visiting side's forwards after the driving maul had got them close. Lealiifano’s conversion reduced the deficit to just a single point with a quarter of the match to go. 

    Having just scored a try, Fainga’a turned from hero to villain when he was red-carded for headbutting debutant replacement Matthys Basson. Pollard slotted the resulting penalty between the uprights to make it 28-24 to the home side. 

    Despite going down to 14 men, Banks scored a magnificent individual try beating several defenders for pace, including Boks Jesse Kriel and Warrick Gelant, in a scintillating run on his way to the tryline to cap a superb individual performance. Replacement flyhalf Wharenui Hawera added the extras for a 31-28 lead. 

    The remarkable comeback was complete when winger Muirhead went over in the left-hand corner with plenty of space on the overlap to spare.

    Bulls coach John Mitchell would have been livid with his troops to have thrown a 28-24 lead away with an extra man. 

    Hawera’s conversion secured a 38-28 victory.



    Tries: Handre Pollard, Roelof Smit, Johnny Kotze

    Conversions: Pollard (2)

    Penalties: Pollard (3)


    Tries: Kyle Godwin, Lachlan McCaffrey, Folau Fainga’a, Tom Banks, Andrew Muirhead

    Conversions: Christian Lealiifano (3), Wharenui Hawera (2)

    Penalty: Lealiifano



    15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Travis Odendaal, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Johnny Kotze, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Marco van Staden, 7 Nic de Jager, 6 Roelof Smit, 5 RG Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Conraad van Vuuren, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Trevor Nyakane

    Substitutes: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Mox Mxoli, 18 Matthys Basson, 19 Ruben van Heerden, 20 Thembelani Bholi, 21 Andre Warner, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Divan Rossouw


    15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Andrew Muirhead, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 David Pocock, 6 Lachlan McCaffrey, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Blake Enever, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 Scott Sio

    Substitutes: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 Nick Mayhew, 18 Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, 19 Richie Arnold, 20 Tom Cusack, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Wharenui Hawera, 23 Andrew Smith

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming


    04 August 2018
    28 July 2018
    21 July 2018
    20 July 2018
    14 July 2018
    13 July 2018
    07 July 2018
    06 July 2018
    30 June 2018
    29 June 2018
    03 June 2018
    02 June 2018
    01 June 2018
    26 May 2018
    25 May 2018
    19 May 2018
    18 May 2018
    12 May 2018
    11 May 2018
    05 May 2018
    04 May 2018
    28 April 2018
    27 April 2018
    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Lions (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Stormers
    • Bulls

    Opinion Poll

    Who will win the 2018 Rugby Championships?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.