Garth April at pivot for Sharks

    2016-04-20 11:25

    Cape Town - Sharks director of rugby Gary Gold has named his side to face the Highlanders in Dunedin on Friday (kick-off (09:35 SA time).

    This week’s team named to play the Highlanders shows a number of changes to the personnel.

    “Paul Jordaan was struggling, as was Daniel du Preez, and that afforded a few other guys an opportunity,” Gold told the Sharks' official website.

    “There were some niggles after the Blues game and yes, we have a few guys on tour and we want to bring them in. We want competition for places to be strong and with a squad of 27 on tour, we want to be able to call on each of them, and for everyone to make a contribution.”

    Jordaan’s niggle has precluded his selection which means JP Pietersen shifts to outside centre with Odwa Ndungane coming into the starting line-up. His place on the bench is taken by S’bura Sithole.

    Also named on the bench are Chiliboy Ralepelle and Jean Deysel for their first probable appearances this year. 

    Garth April has been given a start and swaps places with Joe Pietersen at flyhalf, while Keegan Daniel, in for Daniel du Preez, is the final change.



    15. Ben Smith (captain), 14. Matt Faddes, 13. Malakai Fekitoa, 12. Jason Emery, 11. Jack Wilson, 10. Lima Sopoaga, 9. Aaron Smith, 8. Liam Squire, 7. Shane Christie, 6. Elliot Dixon, 5. Joe Wheeler, 4. Tom Franklin, 3. Josh Hohneck, 2. Ash Dixon, 1. Daniel Lienert-Brown

    Substitutes: 16. Liam Coltman, 17. Craig Millar, 18. Ross Geldenhuys, 19. Alex Ainley, 20. Dan Pryor, 21. Fumiaki Tanaka, 22. Hayden Parker, 23. Patrick Osborne


    15. Willie le Roux, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. JP Pietersen, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Garth April, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Philip van der Walt, 7. Jean-Luc du Preez, 6. Keegan Daniel, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Etienne Oosthuizen, 3. Coenie Oosthuizen, 2. Franco Marais, 1. Tendai Mtawarira (captain)

    Substitutes: 16. Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17. Thomas du Toit , 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Hyron Andrews, 20. Jean Deysel, 21. Michael Claassens, 22. Joe Pietersen, 23. S’bura Sithole

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    Saturday, 17 February 2018
    • Stormers v Jaguares, Cape Town 15:05
    • Lions v Sharks, Emirates Airlines Park 17:15
    Friday, 23 February 2018
    • Highlanders v Blues, 08:35
    • Rebels v Reds, AAMI Park 10:45
    Saturday, 24 February 2018
    • Sunwolves v Brumbies, Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium 06:15
    • Crusaders v Chiefs, 08:35
    • Waratahs v Stormers, Allianz Stadium 10:45
    • Lions v Jaguares, Emirates Airlines Park 15:05
    • Bulls v Hurricanes, Loftus Versfeld 17:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    The 2017 Super Rugby tournament has reached its quarter-final stage. When all is said and done, who emerges victorious?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.