Force ring changes for Bulls

    2016-04-28 10:19

    Perth - Western Force head coach Michael Foley has given the side a shake up for Friday’s Super clash against the Bulls with seven changes to the match-day 23.

    In the changes to the starting XV, Harry Scoble has been named for his run-on debut after impressing in his 35-minutes off the bench last week.

    Flyhalf Ian Prior and wing Luke Morahan return to the side after a week on the sidelines and Ammon Matuauto has been named for his Super Rugby debut at outside centre.

    In the changes to the reserves, Guy Millar and Ross Haylett-Petty return, while Anaru Rangi comes into the side for a potential debut.

    Foley said he is confident each player named will be able do their job for the side.

    “As a team, our opportunity to respond to a disappointing performance comes on Friday night. Every person in the team cares, but the way to best show that is on the field. While we’ve encountered some challenges this season, it’s important we look forward to attacking and enjoying every contest,” he told the Force’s official website.

    “A number of the men who’ve performed well over an extended period in training have been given the opportunity to either start, or come off the bench this week.”

    The props remain unchanged with Tetera Faulkner at tighthead and Francois van Wyk at loosehead, while in the only change to the starting forward pack, Harry Scoble will look to stand strong against a powerful Bulls front row.

    Adam Coleman and Steve Mafi will again partner in the second row. While the formidable backrow of Angus Cottrell, Matt Hodgson and Ben McCalman will look to take the challenge up to Bulls with clashes between the two sides notoriously being bruising battles.

    Among the halfbacks, Alby Mathewson will partner with Prior who comes into the starting No 10 jersey to replace Peter Grant who suffered an eye injury in Round 8.

    In midfield, Junior Rasolea will start at inside centre with Ammon Mautauto named to make his Western Force and Super Rugby debut when he runs on at outside centre. Matuauto was strong for the Perth Spirit in the Buildcorp National Rugby Championship and will be keen to make his presence felt at the next level.

    Speedster Morahan is a welcome return to the left wing while Marcel Brache and Dane Haylett-Petty round out the starting line-up.

    Coming off the bench, Ryan Louwrens and Kyle Godwin will both look to inject some pace into the backline when called upon while, Haylett-Petty will be keen to pick up where he left off after missing last week’s clash with concussion.

    Friday’s clash is scheduled for 13:05 (SA time).



    15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Marcel Brache, 13 Ammon Mautauto, 12 Junior Rasolea, 11 Luke Morohan, 10 Ian Prior, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Matt Hodgson (captain), 6 Angus Cottrell, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Steve Mafi, 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2 Harry Scoble, 1 Francois van Wyk

    Substitutes: 16 Chris Heiberg, 17 Anaru Rangi, 18 Guy Millar, 19 Ross Haylett-Petty, 20 Brynard Stander, 21 Ryan Louwrens, 22 Kyle Godwin, 23 Semisi Masirewa


    15 SP Marais, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Hanro Liebenberg, 7 Arno Botha, 6 Lappies Labuschagne, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 RG Snyman, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Trevor Nyakane

    Substitutes: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Lizo Gqoboka, 18 Werner Kruger, 19 Jannes Kirsten, 20 Roelof Smit, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Tian Schoeman, 23 Dries Swanepoel

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    Sunday, 02 February 2020
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 01:00


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    Which team will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.