Force overpower Rebels in dead-rubber

    2017-07-07 15:56

    Cape Town - The Western Force have beaten the Melbourne Rebels 31-22 in a dead-rubber Super Rugby clash in Perth on Friday.

    It was a match that means nothing in terms of the tournament playoff race, but these are the two sides who are considered favourites to be cut from next year's competition in line with SANZAAR's restructure. 

    The Force were 14-15 down at half-time, but in the end they scored four tries to three from the visitors. 

    Bill Meakes, Adam Coleman, Richard Hardwick and Chance Peni crossed the whitewash for the Force while Marika Koroibete (2) and Colby Fainga'a scored for the Rebels. 

    Force flyhalf Peter Grant slotted four penalties and a conversion while Reece Hodge knocked over two penalties and one conversion for the Rebels. 

    The result means that the Force move up from fourth to second in the Australian Conference on 21 points while the Rebels stay bottom with 9 points. 

    Next weekend sees the Force at home to Waratahs while the Rebels host the Jaguares. 



    15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Chance Peni, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Bill Meakes, 11 Alex Newsome, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Michael Ruru, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Richard Hardwick, 6 Ross Haylett-Petty, 5 Adam Coleman (captain), 4 Matt Philip, 3 Jermaine Ainsley, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Pek Cowan

    Substitutes: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Francois van Wyk, 18 Tetera Faulkner, 19 Lewis Carmichael, 20 Brynard Stander, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Jono Lance, 23 James Verity-Amm


    15 Jonah Placid, 14 Tom English, 13 Mitch Inman, 12 Reece Hodge, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Jackson Garden-Bachop, 9 Nic Stirzaker (captain), 8 Amanaki Mafi, 7 Colby Fainga’a, 6 Lopeti Timani, 5 Steve Cummins, 4 Murray Douglas, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 James Hanson, 1 Toby Smith

    Substitutes:16 Jordan Uelese, 17 Cruze Ah Nau, 18 Fereti Sa’aga, 19 Culum Retallick, 20 Hugh Sinclair, 21 Ben Meehan, 22 Sione Tuipulotu, 23 Jack Maddocks

    Read More On:  rebels force super rugby rugby

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Saturday, 13 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00
    Saturday, 20 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Sharks (Q)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Bulls
    • Lions

    Opinion Poll

    Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.