Fainga'a returns for Cheetahs clash

    2016-04-20 14:26

    Cape Town - The return of Colby Fainga’a from injury headlines five new inclusions in the Rebels match-day squad for Friday’s Super Rugby clash against the Cheetahs at AAMI Park, Melbourne.

    Fainga’a will make his Super Rugby return from the reserves bench after an elbow injury had sidelined the flanker since the Rebels’ opening round victory over the Western Force in Perth eight weeks ago.

    Head coach Tony McGahan has made four changes to the run-on side that lost to the Hurricanes last weekend with Toby Smith, returning from a concussion suffered against the Waratahs, and Jonah Placid named at fullback for the first time since the Highlanders in Round 5.

    Reece Hodge will make his first start at outside centre after all four of his Super Rugby appearances have come at fullback while Sefa Nailavu, who got through his first full game since returning from a broken leg last year, and Cam Crawford swap wings.

    Centre Sione Tuipulotu, last week named in the Australian Under-20’s squad, and Japanese international Kotaro Matsushima have been recalled to the team with the pair to start on the reserve bench against the Cheetahs.

    Tuipulotu has been named in the team for the first time since he made his Super Rugby debut against the Reds in Round Three while Matsushima’s only appearance for the Rebels came in Round Two against the Bulls.

    “With Dom Shipperley and Mitch Inman unavailable for selection due to injury, we’ve been forced to make a few changes this weekend against the Cheetahs, which isn’t great for continuity, but I’m looking forward to the young backs playing well,” McGahan said.

    “Our depth has been tested a few times already this year with various injuries but those players coming in have always stepped up and taken the challenge head on so I’m expecting nothing less again this weekend.”



    15. Jonah Placid, 14. Cam Crawford, 13. Reece Hodge, 12. Tamati Ellison, 11. Sefanaia Naivalu, 10. Jack Debreczeni, 9. Nick Stirzaker (captain), 8. Adam Thomson, 7. Sean McMahon, 6. Jordy Reid, 5. Lopeti Timani, 4. Luke Jones, 3. Laurie Weeks, 2. James Hanson, 1. Toby Smith

    Substitutes: 16. Pat Leafa, 17. Cruze Ah-Nau, 18. Jamie Hagan, 19. Sam Jeffries, 20. Colby Faingaa, 21. Ben Meehan, 22. Daniel Hawkins, 23. Kotaro Matsushima


    15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Segeal Petersen, 13 Nico Lee, 12 Francois Venter (captain), 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Niel Marais, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Paul Schoeman, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Hilton Lobberts, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Lood de Jager, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Charles Marais

    Substitutes: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Danie Mienie, 18 Luan de Bruin, 19 Carl Wegner, 20 Henco Venter, 21 Oupa Mohoje, 22 Tian Meyer, 23 Fred Zeilinga

    Read More On:  rebels cheetahs super rugby rugby

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights


    Friday, 15 February 2019
    • Chiefs v Highlanders, FMG Stadium Waikato 08:35
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:45
    Saturday, 16 February 2019
    • Blues v Crusaders, Eden Park 08:35
    • Waratahs v Hurricanes, Allianz Stadium 10:45
    • Sunwolves v Sharks, Chichibunomiya Rugby Stadium 12:55
    • Bulls v Stormers, Loftus Versfeld 17:15
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 22 February 2019
    • Highlanders v Reds, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:35


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    Who will win the 2018 Rugby Championships?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.