De Bruin makes changes to Lions line-up

    2018-03-22 13:08

    Cape Town - Lions coach Swys de Bruin has named his team for Saturday's Super Rugby clash against the Jaguares in Buenos Aires.

    Kick-off is scheduled for 23:40 SA time.

    De Bruin has made a few changes to the team that edged the Sunwolves 40-38 in Johannesburg last weekend.

    Up front, the coach has opted for a new front row, with Jacques van Rooyen and Ruan Dreyer the starting props and Robbie Coetzee getting a chance at hooker.

    Coetzee replaces Springbok Malcolm Marx, who gets a breather on the bench.

    Dylan Smith and Johannes Jonker will provide prop cover on the bench.

    Captain Franco Mostert also moves back into his regular position of lock, having played flank in recent weeks.

    As such, the loose trio is shuffled, with Robert Kruger replacing Mostert at No 7 and Cyle Brink coming in at No 6 for Kwagga Smith, who moves to No 8, with Len Massyn dropping to the bench.

    In the backline, Marco Jansen van Vuren starts at scrumhalf in place of the injured Ross Cronje, while Rohan Janse van Rensburg moves back from wing to inside centre, replacing Harold Vorster.

    Sylvian Mahuza also comes in at right wing.





    15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Marco Jansen van Vuren, 8 Kwagga Smith, 7 Robert Kruger, 6 Cyle Brink, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Marvin Orie, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Jacques van Rooyen

    Substitutes: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Len Massyn, 21 Dillon Smit, 22 Howard Mnisi, 23 Shaun Reynolds

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Level5 Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.