Crusaders tweak starting XV for Hurricanes

    2018-05-23 09:28

    Cape Town - Crusaders coach Scott Robertson has made three changes to his starting line-up to take on the Hurricanes in Christchurch on Friday. 

    Kick-off is at 09:35 SA time.

    Robertson's tweaks to his run-on side that defeated the Blues at Eden Park last weekend include two changes in the forwards and one in the backs. 

    In the front-row, Tim Perry has been ruled out due to a hamstring strain suffered at the All Blacks camp on Tuesday and Wyatt Crockett will start at loosehead. 

    On the opposite side of the scrum, Michael Alaalatoa steps in to the starting team at tighthead, in place of the banned Owen Franks. 

    The only change in the backline sees experienced midfielder Tim Bateman line up at inside centre in place of Ryan Crotty, who is unavailable this week due to concussion.

    Bateman will also be vice-captain of the side alongside hooker Codie Taylor. 

    Matt Todd has again been named captain this week, with Sam Whitelock also unavailable due to concussion symptoms. 

    There is good news in the reserves, with Luke Romano returning from injury to provide cover at lock.

    Chris King and Donald Brighouse come in to the match day side as prop cover, and Braydon Ennor will wear the No 23 jersey in place of the injured Manasa Mataele.



    15 David Havili, 14 Seta Tamanivalu, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Tim Bateman, 11 George Bridge, 10 Richie Mo'unga, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Jordan Taufua, 7 Matt Todd (captain), 6 Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, 5 Quinten Strange, 4 Scott Barrett, 3 Michael Alaalatoa, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Wyatt Crockett 

    Substitutes: 16 Andrew Makalio, 17 Chris King, 18 Donald Brighouse, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Pete Samu, 21 Mitchell Drummond, 22 Mitchell Hunt, 23 Braydon Ennor


    15 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 14 Julian Savea, 13 Jordie Barrett, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Blade Thomson, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Brad Shields (captain), 5 Sam Lousi, 4 Michael Fatialofa, 3 Jeff Toomaga-Allen, 2 Ricky Riccitelli, 1 Toby Smith 

    Substitutes: 16 James O'Reilly, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Ben May, 19 Murray Douglas, 20 Reed Prinsep, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Ihaia West, 23 Jonah Lowe

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.