Crusaders survive Hurricanes scare to reach Super Rugby final

    2019-06-29 11:14

    Cape Town - The Crusaders confirmed a Super Rugby final against the Jaguares with a 30-26 victory in a bruising cliffhanger semi-final against the Hurricanes in Christchurch on Saturday.

    As it happened: Crusaders v Hurricanes

    It extended the nine-time champion Crusaders' unbeaten home record to 30 although twice in the second half the Hurricanes closed within one point and threatened a boilover. 

    The Jaguares had earlier qualified for the final for the first time when they swamped the Brumbies 39-7 in Buenos Aires

    The Crusaders led 13-0 after 39 minutes before a dramatic turn in the game when the Hurricanes dropped their kicking plan and took to running the ball.

    They scored just on half-time and immediately after the resumption to close within one point.

    But every time they touched down the Crusaders responded and opened up a four-point gap at the end with a Richie Mo'unga penalty.

    "Both teams really deserved to win that," Crusaders coach Scott Robertson said.

    "It had Test match intensity."

    Crusaders captain Sam Whitelock was concerned with how many of his side would be available for next week's final.

    "There are some sore bodies, guys already have ice and some with slings," he said.

    Hurricanes skipper Dane Coles said his side fought hard.

    "In the first half they started really well but we absorbed the pressure and started really well in the second half."

    In the crucial battle of the flyhalves, it was Mo'unga who controlled the game in the first half with his options of whether to run or kick. 

    Beauden Barrett's kicking game was erratic at first but when he adopted a running game after the break it snapped the Hurricanes into effective action.

    From being guilty of kicking away too much possession which the Crusaders were only too happy to run back at them in the first half, the Hurricanes ran hard in the second and stretched the Crusaders defence. 

    The Crusaders were first on the board with a Mo'unga penalty before Sevu Reece scored the opening try after George Bridge won possession in an aerial contest with Jonah Lowe. 

    In the shadow of half-time the Hurricanes made a sustained attack with the ball, ignited by a 40-metre run from Jordie Barrett, which ended with the powerful Ngani Laumape forcing his way over the line. 

    The Hurricanes made an explosive start to the second half with a Matt Proctor break sending Ben Lam over in the corner. 

    From the restart the Crusaders struck back immediately when a wayward Hurricanes clearing kick saw Mo'unga mount a counter-attack which he was on hand to finish and convert.

    The Hurricanes wasted no time with their reply when Laumape kicked a loose ball into open territory and was quick enough to recover possession and score.

    When Reece scored his second try the Hurricanes responded with a try to TJ Perenara to lock the score at 27-26 before Mo'unga's final penalty. 

    As the top side in the regular season the Crusaders, who are the defending champions, will host the final against the Jaguares next Saturday.



    Tries: Sevu Reece (2), Richie Mo'unga

    Conversions: Mo'unga (3)

    Penalties: Mo'unga (3)


    Tries: Ngani Laumape (2), Ben Lam, TJ Perenara

    Conversions: Beauden Barrett (3)



    15 David Havili, 14 Sevu Reece, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 George Bridge, 10 Richie Mo'unga, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Matt Todd, 6 Whetukamokamo Douglas, 5 Sam Whitelock (captain), 4 Scott Barrett, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody

    Substitutes: 16 Andrew Makalio, 17 George Bower, 18 Michael Alaalatoa, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Jordan Taufua, 21 Mitchell Drummond, 22 Mitchell Hunt, 23 Braydon Ennor


    15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Jonah Lowe, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Gareth Evans, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 4 James Blackwell, 3 Jeff To’omaga-Allen, 2 Dane Coles (captain), 1 Toby Smith

    Substitutes: 16 Asafo Aumua, 17 Xavier Numia, 18 Ben May, 19 Kane Le’aupepe, 20 Vaea Fifita, 21 Richard Judd, 22 James Marshall, 23 Peter Umaga-Jensen

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    06 July 2019
    29 June 2019
    22 June 2019
    21 June 2019
    15 June 2019
    14 June 2019
    08 June 2019
    07 June 2019
    01 June 2019
    31 May 2019
    25 May 2019
    24 May 2019
    18 May 2019
    17 May 2019
    12 May 2019
    11 May 2019
    10 May 2019
    04 May 2019
    03 May 2019
    27 April 2019
    26 April 2019
    20 April 2019
    19 April 2019
    13 April 2019
    12 April 2019
    06 April 2019
    05 April 2019
    30 March 2019
    29 March 2019
    24 March 2019
    23 March 2019
    22 March 2019
    16 March 2019
    15 March 2019
    09 March 2019
    08 March 2019
    02 March 2019
    01 March 2019
    23 February 2019
    22 February 2019
    16 February 2019
    15 February 2019


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Jaguares (Q)
    • Bulls (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Lions
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    Who wins Saturday's Super Rugby final?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.