Crusaders stumble their way past Sunwolves

    2018-04-21 11:20

    Cape Town - The Crusaders put in an uncharacteristically sloppy performance in downing the Sunwolves in their Super Rugby clash in Christchurch on Saturday.

    As it happened: Crusaders v Sunwolves

    The eight-time champion Crusaders made heavy weather - in wet conditions - of beating their visitors 33-11 after racing into a 14-0 lead after only eight minutes.

    After that it was all-Sunwolves as the teams went into the half-time break at 14-5 and 10 minutes into the second half the Sunwolves had further cut the deficit to 14-11.

    To their credit the Crusaders finished strongly and eventually did enough to pick up a full-house of five points to move to the top of the New Zealand Conference and into second place in the Overall log.

    The Sunwolves left empty-handed, but will take great pride in their performance. They remain bottom of both the Australian Conference and Overall standings.

    In next weekend's Round 11 action, the Crusaders travel to Canberra to face the Brumbies (Saturday, April 28 at 11:45 SA time), while the Sunwolves visit Wellington to take on the Hurricane (Friday, April 27 at 09:35 SA time).



    Tries: Ryan Crotty (2), Matt Todd, Manasa Mataele, Jack Stratton

    Conversions: Mike Delany (3), Mitchell Hunt


    Try: Michel Little

    Penalties: Hayden Parker (2)



    15 George Bridge, 14 Israel Dagg, 13 Tim Bateman, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Manasa Mataele, 10 Mike Delany, 9 Mitchell Drummond, 8 Tom Sanders, 7 Matt Todd (captain) 6 Ethan Blackadder, 5 Quinten Strange, 4 Scott Barrett, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Ben Funnell, 1 Tim Perry

    Substitutes: 16 Andrew Makalio, 17 Harrison Allan, 18 Chris King, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Pete Samu, 21 Jack Stratton, 22 Mitchell Hunt, 23 Seta Tamanivalu


    15 William Tupou, 14 Hosea Saumaki, 13 Timothy Lafaele, 12 Michael Little, 11 Kenki Fukuoka, 10 Hayden Parker, 9 Fumiaki Tanaka, 8 Kazuki Himeno, 7 Pieter Lappies Labuschagne (captain), 6 Yoshitaka Tokunaga, 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 James Moore, 3 Jiwon Koo, 2 Jaba Bregvadze, 1 Craig Millar

    Substitutes: 16 Yusuke Niwai, 17 Shintaro Ishihara, 18 Takuma Asahara, 19 Sam Wykes, 20 Edward Quirk, 21 Yutaka Nagare, 22 Ryoto Nakamura, 23 Semisi Masirewa

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Level5 Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.