Crusaders show class in beating Hurricanes

    2017-05-13 11:17

    Garrin Lambley - Sport24 Editor

    Cape Town - The Crusaders showed their class - and kept their unbeaten streak alive - in beating the Hurricanes in a blockbuster all-New Zealand Super Rugby derby in Christchurch on Saturday.

    As it happened: Crusaders v Hurricanes

    The Crusaders relied on their dominant pack of forwards in winning 20-12 after the teams were level at 9-all at half-time.

    Crusaders skipper Matt Todd scored the only try of the match from a rolling maul 10 minutes into the second half, while flyhalf Richie Mo'unga added five penalties for the home side.

    The Hurricanes replied with four penalties by fullback Jordie Barrett.

    The Crusaders stretched their winning tally to 11 straight matches as they search for an eighth Super Rugby title, but their first since 2008.

    The Crusaders picked up four points for their victory to stretch their lead atop both the New Zealand Conference and the all important Overall log.

    The Hurricanes left empty-handed, but stayed third in the ultra-competitive New Zealand Conference.

    In next weekend's Round 13 action, the Crusaders travel to Suva in Fiji to play the Chiefs (Friday, May 19 at 09:35 SA time), while the Hurricanes welcome the Cheetahs to Wellington (Saturday, May 20 at 09:35 SA time).



    15 David Havili, 14 Seta Tamanivalu, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 George Bridge, 10 Richie Mo'unga, 9 Mitchell Drummond, 8 Jordan Taufua, 7 Matt Todd (captain), 6 Pete Samu, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody

    Substitutes: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Joe Moody, 18 Michael Alaalatoa, 19 Quinten Strange, 20 Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, 21 Bryn Hall, 22 Mitchell Hunt, 23 Manasa Mataele


    15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Vince Aso, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara (captain), 8 Brad Shields, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Vaea Fifita, 4 Mark Abbott, 3 Jeffery To'omaga-Allen, 2 Ricky Riccitelli, 1 Chris Eves

    Substitutes: 16 Leni Apisai, 17 Ben May, 18 Loni Uhila, 19 Sam Lousi, 20 Toa Halafihi, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Otere Black, 23 Wes Goosen

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Friday, 23 March 2018
    • Crusaders v Bulls, Rugby League Park 08:35
    • Rebels v Sharks, Melbourne Rectangular Stadium 10:45
    Saturday, 24 March 2018
    • Sunwolves v Chiefs, Chichibunomiya Rugby Stadium 06:15
    • Hurricanes v Highlanders, Wellington Regional Stadium 08:35
    • Stormers v Reds, Newlands Stadium 17:15
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio 23 de Agosto 23:40
    Friday, 30 March 2018
    • Chiefs v Highlanders, Waikato Stadium 08:35
    • Rebels v Hurricanes, Melbourne Rectangular Stadium 10:45


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.