Crusaders show championship qualities

    2016-04-15 11:18

    Cape Town - The Crusaders showed glimpses of their champion pedigree with a comprehensive victory over the Jaguares in their Vodacom Super Rugby clash in Christchurch on Friday.

    As it happened: Crusaders v Jaguares

    The Crusaders won 32-15 after leading 22-3 at half-time.

    The Crusaders scored five tries through scrumhalf Andy Ellis, fullback Israel Dagg (2), flyhalf Richie Mo'unga and No 8 Kieran Reed. Mo'unga was also successful with two conversions and a penalty.

    The Jaguares replied with tries by No 8 Facundo Isa and centre Santiago González Iglesias. Flyhalf Juan Martín Hernández added the conversion and a penalty.

    The Crusaders picked up a full-house of five points for their win and moved to second spot in the New Zealand Conference and third in the Australasian Group.

    The Jaguares left empty-handed and remained third in the Africa Conference 2. They dropped to sixth in the South African Group after their sixth defeat in seven matches.

    In next weekend's Round 9 action, the Crusaders travel to Canberra to play the Brumbies (Sunday, April 24 at 08:05), while the Jaguares head to Tokyo to face the Sunwolves (Saturday, April 23 at 07:15).



    15 Israel Dagg, 14 Johnny McNicholl, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 Richie Mo'unga, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Matt Todd, 6 Jordan Taufua, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody

    Substitutes: 16 Ged Robinson, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Mike Alaalatoa, 19 Jimmy Tupou, 20 Tim Boyes, 21 Mitchell Drummond, 22 Sean Wainui, 23 Ben Volavola


    15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Matías Orlando, 13 Jerónimo de la Fuente, 12 Santiago González Iglesias, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Juan Martín Hernández, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Facundo Isa, 7 Rodrigo Báez, 6 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 5 Matías Alemanno, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustín Creevy (captain), 1 Santiago García Botta

    Substitutes: 16 Facundo Bosch, 17 Felipe Arregui, 18 Enrique Pieretto, 19 Juan Cruz Guillemaín, 20 Pablo Matera, 21 Felipe Ezcurra, 22 Joaquín Paz, 23 Lucas González Amorosino

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Saturday, 13 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00
    Saturday, 20 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Sharks (Q)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Bulls
    • Lions

    Opinion Poll

    Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.