Crusaders pack bullies Force

    2017-03-24 10:28

    Cape Town - The Crusaders relied on their forwards to demolish the Force and stay unbeaten in this year's Vodacom Super Rugby tournament on Friday.

    As it happened: Crusaders v Force

    The Crusaders won 45-17 after leading 28-17 at half-time.

    The Crusaders scored seven tries - five of which came from their forwards - with flanks Matt Todd and Scott Barrett, lock Luke Romano, hooker Codie Taylor and substitute hooker Ben Funnel all getting their names on the scoresheet.

    Wing Digby Ioane and fullback David Havili were the only backline players to score tries.

    Flyhalf Mitchell Hunt added four conversions, and Marty McKenzie one. 

    The Force replied with tries by wings Alex Newsome and Chance Peni. Flyhalf Jono Lance landed both conversions and a penalty.

    The bonus-point win for the Crusaders means that they move to the top of the New Zealand conference with five wins from five this season. 

    They have 21 points while the undefeated Chiefs, who have a bye this weekend, are on 19. 

    The Force, meanwhile, stay on 5 points from their 4 matches with just 1 victory. 

    In next weekend's Round 6 action, the Crusaders travel to Sydney to play the Waratahs (Sunday, April 2 at 08:05 SA time), while the Force visit Auckland for their clash against the Blues (Saturday, April 1 at 06:15 SA time).



    15 David Havili, 14 Digby Ioane, 13 Tim Bateman, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 George Bridge, 10 Mitchell Hunt, 9 Mitchell Drummond, 8 Jordan Taufua, 7 Matt Todd, 6 Scott Barrett, 5 Sam Whitelock (captain), 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Wyatt Crockett

    Substitutes: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Tim Perry, 18 Mike Alaalatoa, 19 Mitchell Dunshea, 20 Pete Samu, 21 Bryn Hall, 22 Marty McKenzie, 23 Manasa Mataele


    15 Luke Morahan, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Marcel Brache, 11 Chance Peni, 10 Jono Lance (captain), 9 Ryan Louwrens, 8 Richard Hardwick, 7 Kane Koteka, 6 Isi Naisarani, 5 Matt Philip, 4 Ross Haylett-Petty, 3 Jermaine Ainsley, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Ben Daley 

    Substitutes: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Pek Cowan, 18 Tetera Faulkner, 19 Richie Arnold, 20 Matt Hodgson, 21 Michael Ruru, 22 Ian Prior, 23 Robbie Coleman

    Read More On:  crusaders force super rugby rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Saturday, 24 March 2018
    • Sunwolves v Chiefs, Chichibunomiya Rugby Stadium 06:15
    • Hurricanes v Highlanders, Wellington Regional Stadium 08:35
    • Stormers v Reds, Newlands Stadium 17:15
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio 23 de Agosto 21:40
    Friday, 30 March 2018
    • Chiefs v Highlanders, Waikato Stadium 08:35
    • Rebels v Hurricanes, Melbourne Rectangular Stadium 10:45
    Saturday, 31 March 2018
    • Blues v Sharks, Eden Park 08:35
    • Brumbies v Waratahs, Canberra Stadium 10:45
    • Bulls v Stormers, Loftus Versfeld 17:15


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.