Crusaders coach: Peyper is our 'No 1'

    2017-08-03 16:48

    Lloyd Burnard - Johannesburg

    Johannesburg - Much of the build-up to this weekend's Super Rugby final between the Lions and the Crusaders has centred around the appointment of Jaco Peyper as the referee. 

    New Zealand media, in particular, have voiced their disappointment in SANZAAR's decision to give the 37-year-old South African the final in front of what is expected to be 62 000 Lions fans. 

    Peyper was in charge when the Chiefs beat the Stormers at Newlands in this year's quarter-final and he also blew last weekend's semi-final when the Lions stunned the Hurricanes in Johannesburg. 

    In that match, Peyper was involved in a highly controversial moment when he sin-binned Hurricanes flyhalf Beauden Barrett for what he deemed to be a professional foul. 

    While Barrett was off the field, the Lions scored 17 points to surge into the lead, and that decision has surely contributed to the feeling of injustice coming out of New Zealand. 

    But Crusaders coach Scott Robertson, when asked about the attention surrounding Peyper, revealed that the Crusaders management considered him the best in the competition. 

    "Jaco is a quality ref. We were asked to rank our refs before this finals series (Super Rugby playoffs) and who would be No 1, and we said Jaco," Robertson said.

    "He deserves it on that alone.

    "SANZAAR appoint the best ref and we trust their selection policy."

    While Robertson clearly backs Peyper's ability, he knows that Saturday will provide the referee with a daunting task. 

    "Jaco is experienced and he's resilient," said Robertson.

    "With the nature that this is, reffing in front of his homeland country, you have to have a resilient ref who refs what's in front of him.

    "He has to take the emotion out of it ... so we can't ask for more than someone like Jaco who has got those capabilities."

    In last year's Super Rugby final, Kiwi referee Glen Jackson officiated the match between the Lions and the Hurricanes in Wellington. 

    On Saturday, Jackson will be one of the touchline officials. 

    Kick-off is at 16:00.

    Follow Sport24 journalist @LloydBurnard on Twitter...



    15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Ruan Ackermann, 7 Kwagga Smith, 6 Jaco Kriel (captain), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Jacques van Rooyen

    Substitutes: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Cyle Brink, 21 Faf de Klerk, 22 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 23 Sylvian Mahuza


    15 David Havili, 14 Israel Dagg, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Seta Tamanivalu, 10 Richie Mo'unga, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Matt Todd, 6 Jordan Taufua, 5 Sam Whitelock (captain), 4 Scott Barrett, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody

    Substitutes: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Mike Alaalatoa, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Pete Samu, 21 Mitchell Drummond, 22 Mitchell Hunt, 23 George Bridge

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Friday, 27 April 2018
    • Hurricanes v Sunwolves, Westpac Stadium 09:35
    • Stormers v Rebels, Cape Town 15:05
    Saturday, 28 April 2018
    • Reds v Lions, Suncorp Stadium 07:05
    • Blues v Jaguares, Eden Park 09:35
    • Brumbies v Crusaders, GIO Stadium 11:45
    • Bulls v Highlanders, Loftus Versfeld 17:15
    Friday, 04 May 2018
    • Chiefs v Jaguares, Rotorua International Stadium 09:35
    • Rebels v Crusaders, AAMI Park 11:45


    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.