Classy Chiefs beat 14-man Blues

    2017-03-03 10:25

    Cape Town - The Chiefs laid out their title credentials with a resounding victory over a 14-man Blues side in their Vodacom Super Rugby clash in Waikato on Friday.

    As it happened: Chiefs v Blues

    The Chiefs won 41-26 after leading 22-9 at half-time.

    The Chiefs scored six tries through flanks Liam Messam and Lachlan Boshier, fullback Damian McKenzie, hooker Hika Elliot, wing James Lowe and centre Anton Lienert-Brown. Flyhalf Aaron Cruden added four conversions and a penalty.

    The Blues, who were reduced to 14 men when flank Steven Luatua was shown a straight red card for a high tackle off the ball shortly before the half-time whistle, replied with four tries of their own through lock replacement lock Patrick Tuipulotu, prop Charlie Faumuina and replacement back Rene Ranger.

    Blues pivot Ihaia West landed a conversions and three penalties.

    The Chiefs picked up a full-house of five points for their victory and moved atop both the New Zealand Conference and the Australasian Group.

    The Blues left empty-handed, despite a gallant second half display.

    In next weekend's Week 3 action, the Chiefs host the Hurricanes in Waikato (Friday, March 10 at 08:35 SA time), while the Blues welcome the Highlanders to Eden Park in Auckland (Saturday, March 11 at 08:35 SA time).



    15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Tim Nanai-Williams, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Johnny Faauli, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden (captain), 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Michael Leitch, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Kane Hames 

    Substitutes: 16 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17 Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, 18 Atu Moli, 19 Taleni Seu, 20 Tom Sanders, 21 Jonathan Taumateine, 22 Toni Pulu, 23 Shaun Stevenson


    15 Michael Collins, 14 Matt Duffie, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 Piers Francis, 11 Melani Nanai, 10 Ihaia West, 9 Augustine Pulu, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Blake Gibson, 6 Steven Luatua, 5 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 4 Jimmy Tupou (captain), 3 Sione Mafileo, 2 Matt Moulds, 1 Pauliasi Manu 

    Substitutes: 16 Hame Faiva, 17 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Jerome Kaino, 21 Billy Guyton, 22 George Moala, 23 Rene Ranger

    Read More On:  blues chiefs super rugby rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Saturday, 17 February 2018
    • Stormers v Jaguares, Cape Town 15:05
    • Lions v Sharks, Emirates Airlines Park 17:15
    Friday, 23 February 2018
    • Highlanders v Blues, 08:35
    • Rebels v Reds, AAMI Park 10:45
    Saturday, 24 February 2018
    • Sunwolves v Brumbies, Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium 06:15
    • Crusaders v Chiefs, 08:35
    • Waratahs v Stormers, Allianz Stadium 10:45
    • Lions v Jaguares, Emirates Airlines Park 15:05
    • Bulls v Hurricanes, Loftus Versfeld 17:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    The 2017 Super Rugby tournament has reached its quarter-final stage. When all is said and done, who emerges victorious?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.