Chiefs thump Highlanders in NZ derby - in Fiji

    2018-06-30 11:19

    Cape Town - The Chiefs sent a timely reminder not to discount them from the Super Rugby reckoning with a dominant first half performance in the their clash against the Highlanders in Suva in Saturday.

    As it happened: Highlanders v Chiefs

    The Chiefs won 45-22 after leading 42-0 at half-time.

    The Chiefs, champions in 2012 and 2013, scored six tries in an extraordinary first 40-minute spell through wings Toni Pulu (2) and Sean Wainui, fullback Solomon Alaimalo, prop Karl Tu’inukuafe and flank Luke Jacobson. Flyhalf Damian McKenzie was on target with all six conversions and a lone second spell penalty.

    A shell-shocked Highlanders side to their credit replied with four second half tries of their own by centre Teihorangi Walden (2) and replacements - prop Aki Seiuli and loose forward Shannon Frizell. Flyhalf Lima Sopoaga added a conversion.

    The Chiefs picked up four points for their victory and moved into third - and ahead of the Highlanders - in the ultra-competitive New Zealand Conference and fifth in the Overall standings.

    The Highlanders, in what was a 'home' match for the Dunedin-based side, albeit played some 3 170km away in Fiji, left empty-handed which saw them slip to fourth and sixth in the New Zealand Conference and Overall log, respectively.

    In next weekend's Round 18 action, the Chiefs host the Brumbies in Hamilton (Saturday, July 7 at 07:15 SA time), while the Highlanders face a daunting trip to Christchurch to tackle the table-topping Crusaders (Friday, July 6 at 09:35 SA time).



    15 Ben Smith (co-captain), 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Rob Thompson, 12 Teihorangi Walden, 11 Tevita Li, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Dillon Hunt, 6 Elliot Dixon, 5 Tom Franklin, 4 Jackson Hemopo, 3 Siate Tokolahi, 2 Ash Dixon (co-captain), 1 Daniel Lienert-Brown 

    Substitutes: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Aki Seiuli, 18 Tyrel Lomax, 19 Alex Ainley, 20 Shannon Frizell, 21 Kayne Hammington, 22 Josh Ioane, 23 Richard Buckman


    15 Solomon Alaimalo, 14 Toni Pulu, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Charlie Ngatai, 11 Sean Wainui, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Liam Messam, 7 Sam Cane (captain), 6 Luke Jacobson, 5 Tyler Ardron, 4 Michael Allardice, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Liam Polwart, 1 Karl Tu’inukuafe 

    Substitutes: 16 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17 Sam Prattley, 18 Jeff Thwaites, 19 Jesse Parete, 20 Mitch Karpik, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Marty McKenzie, 23 Shaun Stevenson

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming


    Friday, 15 February 2019
    • Chiefs v Highlanders, FMG Stadium Waikato 08:35
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:45
    Saturday, 16 February 2019
    • Blues v Crusaders, Eden Park 08:35
    • Waratahs v Hurricanes, Allianz Stadium 10:45
    • Sunwolves v Sharks, Chichibunomiya Rugby Stadium 12:55
    • Bulls v Stormers, Loftus Versfeld 17:15
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 22 February 2019
    • Highlanders v Reds, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:35


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    Who will win the 2018 Rugby Championships?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.