Chiefs miss out on bonus-point win over Brumbies

    2017-07-15 09:21

    Cape Town - The Chiefs have beaten the Brumbies in their Super Rugby clash at FMG Stadium in Waikato on Saturday.

    As it happened: Chiefs v Brumbies

    The Chiefs won 28-10 after leading 13-10 at half-time.

    The Chiefs scored three tries through flyhalf Damian McKenzie, Solomona Alaimalo and Michael Leitch. McKenzie kicked 13 points for the New Zealand-side as he landed two conversions and kicked three penalties.

    The Brumbies lone try came from Nigel Ah Wong while Wharenui Hawera kicked over the conversion and a penalty.

    Both sides had already qualified for the quarter-finals but the Chiefs needed the bonus point.

    The Chiefs now sit back and await the result of the Hurricanes v Crusaders match to see who they will play in the quarter-finals.

    The team that emerges on top of the New Zealand Conference will play the Brumbies in Canberra next week, rather than enduring a draining trip to Cape Town to face the Stormers.

    The Brumbies are guaranteed a home quarter-final next week after topping the Australian conference with just six wins.



    Tries: Damian McKenzie, Solomona Alaimalo, Michael Leitch

    Conversions: McKenzie (2)

    Penalties: McKenzie (3)


    Try: Nigel Ah Wong

    Conversion: Wharenui Hawera

    Penalty: Hawera



    15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Solomon Alaimalo, 13 Alex Nankivell, 12 Charlie Ngatai, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden (captain), 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Michael Leitch, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Mitchell Brown, 4 Michael Allardice, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Kane Hames.

    Substitutes: 16 Liam Polwart, 17 Aidan Ross, 18 Atu Moli, 19 Tom Sanders, 20 Mitchell Karpik, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Stephen Donald, 23 Shaun Stevenson


    15 Jordan Jackson-Hope, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Nigel Ah Wong, 12 Andrew Smith, 11 James Dargaville, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Lolo Fakaosilea, 7 Jarrad Butler, 6 Scott Fardy (captain), 5 Blake Enever, 4 Tom Staniforth, 3 Leslie Leulua'iali'i-Makin, 2 Robbie Abel, 1 Nic Mayhew.

    Substitutes: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 Ben Hyne, 20 Tom Cusack, 21 Jordan Smiler, 22 Ryan Lonergan, 23 Tom Banks

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 29 May 2020
    • Blues v Highlanders, 09:05
    • Brumbies v Sunwolves, 11:15
    Saturday, 30 May 2020
    • Hurricanes v Waratahs, 06:45
    • Crusaders v Chiefs, 09:05
    • Rebels v Reds, 11:15
    • Lions v Jaguares, 15:05
    • Bulls v Stormers, 17:15
    Monday, 01 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Sharks (Q)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Bulls
    • Lions

    Opinion Poll

    Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.