Chiefs lay down marker in Canberra

    2016-04-02 12:31

    Cape Town - The Chiefs laid down a marker with victory over the Brumbies in their Super Rugby clash against the Brumbies in Canberra on Saturday.

    As it happened: Brumbies v Chiefs

    The Chiefs won 48-23 after leading 2013 at half-time.

    The Chiefs scored six tries through wings Toni Pulu and James Lowe (2), flank Tom Sanders, scrumhalf Brad Weber and fullback Damian McKenzie. McKenzie was on target with three conversions and four penalties for a personal haul of 23 points.

    The Brumbies replied with tries by prop Scott Sio and flank Scott Fardy. Flyhalf Christian Leali'ifano converted both tries and landed three penalties.

    The Chiefs picked up a full-house of five points for their victory to move to the top of the Australasian and the New Zealand Conferences.

    The Brumbies left empty-handed.

    In next weekend's Round 7 action, the Chiefs host the Blues in Waikato (Friday, April 8 at 09:35 SA time), while the Brumbies have a bye.



    15 Aidan Toua, 14 Joe Tomane, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Robbie Coleman, 10 Christian Leali'ifano (co-captain), 9 Tomás Cubelli, 8 Ita Vaea, 7 David Pocock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore (co-captain), 1 Scott Sio

    Substitutes: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Allan Alaalatoa, 18 Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Jordan Smiler, 21 Joe Powell, 22 James Dargaville, 23 Nigel Ah Wong


    15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Toni Pulu, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Charlie Ngatai, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden (co-captain), 9 Brad Weber, 8 Michael Leitch, 7 Sam Cane (co-captain), 6 Tom Sanders, 5 Taleni Seu, 4 Michael Allardice, 3 Siate Tokolahi, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Mitchell Graham

    Substitutes: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Atu Moli, 18 Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, 19 James Tucker, 20 Maama Vaipulu, 21 Kayne Hammington, 22 Seta Tamanivalu, 23 Shaun Stevenson

    Read More On:  brumbies chiefs super rugby rugby

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Saturday, 13 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00
    Saturday, 20 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Sharks (Q)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Bulls
    • Lions

    Opinion Poll

    Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.