Chiefs edge Highlanders in NZ derby humdinger

    2018-03-30 10:14

    Cape Town - The Chiefs have beaten the Highlanders in a pulsating New Zealand Super Rugby derby in Hamilton on Friday.

    As it happened: Chiefs v Highlanders

    The Chiefs won 27-22 after leading 13-7 at half-time.

    The Chiefs scored three tries through fullback Solomon Alaimalo, hooker Nathan Harris and wing Sean Wainui. Flyhalf Damian McKenzie enjoyed a good night with the boot at poles and landed all three conversions and two penalties.

    The Highlanders replied with three tries of their own by wings Waisake Naholo and Tevita Li and replacement back Sio Tomkinson. Replacement pivot Fletcher Smith, who was forced into the action early after a nasty-looking Achilles injury suffering by starting flyhalf Lima Sopoaga, landed two conversions and a penalty.

    The Chiefs, who have endured a torrid injury toll this season but were expertly led by skipper Sam Cane playing in his 100th Super Rugby match, picked up four points for their victory and moved to the top of the New Zealand Conference and into third spot in the Overall standings.

    The Highlanders picked up a single point for losing by seven or fewer points and stayed fourth and sixth in the New Zealand Conference and Overall log, respectively.

    In next weekend's Round 8 action, the Chiefs host the Blues in Hamilton on Saturday, April 7 (09:35 SA time), while the Highlanders have a bye.



    15 Solomon Alaimalo, 14 Toni Pulu, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Johnny Faauli, 11 Sean Wainui, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Taleni Seu, 7 Sam Cane (captain), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Tyler Ardron, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Aidan Ross 

    Substitutes: 16 Liam Polwart, 17 Karl Tu’inukuafe, 18 Jeff Thwaites, 19 Pita Gus Sowakula, 20 Lachlan Boshier, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Marty McKenzie, 23 Charlie Ngatai


    15 Ben Smith (co-captain), 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Matt Faddes, 12 Rob Thompson, 11 Tevita Li, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Dillon Hunt, 6 Elliot Dixon, 5 Josh Dickson, 4 Jackson Hemopo, 3 Siate Tokolahi, 2 Ash Dixon (co-captain), 1 Daniel Lienert-Brown 

    Substitutes: 16 Greg Pleasants-Tate, 17 Aki Seiuli, 18 Tyrel Lomax, 19 Tom Franklin, 20 Shannon Frizell, 21 Josh Renton, 22 Fletcher Smith, 23 Sio Tomkinson

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Saturday, 21 April 2018
    • Crusaders v Sunwolves, AMI Stadium 09:35
    • Reds v Chiefs, Suncorp Stadium 11:45
    • Bulls v Rebels, Loftus Versfeld 15:05
    • Sharks v Stormers, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 17:15
    Sunday, 22 April 2018
    • Brumbies v Jaguares, GIO Stadium 08:05
    Friday, 27 April 2018
    • Hurricanes v Sunwolves, Westpac Stadium 09:35
    • Stormers v Rebels, Cape Town 15:05


    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.