Cheetahs stumble their way past Sunwolves

    2017-03-11 19:09

    Cape Town - The Cheetahs stumbled and fumbled their way to victory over the Sunwolves in their Vodacom Super Rugby clash in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

    As it happened: Cheetahs v Sunwolves

    The Cheetahs won 38-31 after leading 20-17 at half-time.

    The result was a far cry from the 92-17 drubbing the Sunwolves suffered at the hands of the Cheetahs in last year's fixture.

    The Cheetahs scored four tries through hooker Torsten van Jaarsveld, flank Oupa Mohoje and centres Clinton Swart and Rayno Benjamin. Flyhalf Fred Zeilinga landed three conversions as well as four penalties.

    The Sunwolves replied with four tries of their own by fullback Shota Emi, flyhalf Hayden Cripps and wing Kenki Fukuoka (2). Cripps added two conversions and a penalty, while replacement Jamie-Jerry Taulagi was also on target with two conversions.

    The Cheetahs picked up four points for their victory, but remained second in the Africa Conference 1. The Sunwolves' single point for losing by seven or fewer points wasn't enough to move them off the bottom of the same conference.

    In next weekend's Round 4 action, the Cheetahs travel to Buenos Aires to play the Jaguares (Saturday, March 18 at 21:40 SA time), while the Sunwolves take on the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld (Friday, March 17 at 19:00).



    15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Zee Mkhabela, 13 Rayno Benjamin, 12 Clinton Swart, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Paul Schoeman, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Johan Coetzee, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld (captain), 1 Charles Marais
    Substitutes: 16 Danie Mienie, 17 Elandre Huggett, 18 Tom Botha, 19 Armandt Koster, 20 Henco Venter, 21 Niel Marais, 22 Ali Mgijima, 23 Ruan van Rensburg


    15 Shota Emi, 14 Takaaki Nakazuru, 13 William Tupou, 12 Derek Carpenter, 11 Kenki Fukuoka, 10 Hayden Cripps, 9 Keisuke Uchida, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Shumei Matsuhashi, 6 Ed Quirk (captain), 5 Uwe Hela, 4 Liaki Moli, 3 Yasuo Yamaji, 2 Yusuke Niwai, 1 Koki Yamamoto

    Substitutes: 16 Atsushi Sakate, 17 Masataka Mikami, 18 Takuma Asahara, 19 Sam Wykes, 20 Shokei Kin, 21 Kaito Shigeno, 22 Jumpei Ogura, 23 Jamie-Jerry Taulagi

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    Sunday, 02 February 2020
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 01:00


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    Which team will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.