Bulls v Stormers to open 2019 Super Rugby season

    2018-06-12 08:02

    Cape Town - A mouth-watering South African Super Rugby derby will headline the opening weekend of the 2019 Super Rugby season.

    SANZAAR on Tuesday announced the tournament dates for next year's tournament, with the Bulls to host the Stormers in Pretoria on the opening weekend (Saturday, February 16).

    The event kicks off a week earlier than this year's tournament did when the Chiefs host the Highlanders on Friday, February 15.

    The Sharks open their campaign away to the Sunwolves on Saturday, February 16, while the Lions are away to the Jaguares on the same day.

    The final will take place on Saturday, July 6.

    As there will be no June inbound international matches in 2019 - due to Rugby World Cup 2019 in Japan later in the year - Super Rugby will run uninterrupted for 21 weeks. There will also be a uniform start to the tournament in Round 1 with a full round of seven matches to kick-off Super Rugby.

    Click HERE for the full 2019 Super Rugby match schedule 

    The tournament’s 15-team, three-Conference format also remains the same.

    Each team will play 16 regular season conference matches that includes eight matches within their own Conference (home and away) and four matches against teams from each of the other Conferences (home or away).

    Each team also has two byes. This is a total of 120 matches in the regular season that will be followed by a seven-match, eight-team finals series. 

    The finals series will also remain unchanged with each of the three Conference winners qualifying for and hosting a quarter-final.

    The team with the most tournament points that is not a Conference winner, regardless of Conference, will host the fourth quarter-final.

    This wildcard team will be joined in the quarter-finals by the next best four wildcard teams based on tournament points and regardless of Conference.

    The released schedule confirms all tournament match dates and kick-off times.

    However, the match venues will be announced later in the year once teams have determined where their home matches will be allocated.

    Australia Conference: Brumbies, Rebels, Reds, Waratahs, Sunwolves 

    New Zealand Conference: Blues, Chiefs, Crusaders, Highlanders, Hurricanes 

    South African Conference: Bulls, Lions, Sharks, Stormers, Jaguares

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    04 August 2018
    28 July 2018
    21 July 2018
    20 July 2018
    14 July 2018
    13 July 2018
    07 July 2018
    06 July 2018
    30 June 2018
    29 June 2018
    03 June 2018
    02 June 2018
    01 June 2018
    26 May 2018
    25 May 2018
    19 May 2018
    18 May 2018
    12 May 2018
    11 May 2018
    05 May 2018
    04 May 2018
    28 April 2018
    27 April 2018
    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Lions (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Stormers
    • Bulls

    Opinion Poll

    Who will win the 2018 Rugby Championships?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.