Brumbies open the door for Lions with Waratahs win

    2018-07-14 13:36

    Cape Town - The Brumbies have opened the door for the Lions to finish as runners-up in the overall Super Rugby standings after their victory over the Waratahs in Sydney on Saturday.

    As it happened: Waratahs v Brumbies

    The Waratahs, who entered the match three points ahead of the Lions, now face an anxious wait to see whether they will slip to third in the log - and out of a home semi-final position - when the Johannesburg-based side host the Bulls at 15:05.

    The Brumbies, who were eliminated from playoff contention by kick-off time, won their all-Australian clash 40-31 after having led 26-10 at half-time.

    The Brumbies scored six tries through fullback Tom Banks, lock Richie Arnold, No 8 Isi Naisarani, wing Andy Muirhead, centre Kyle Godwin and replacement Lausii Taliauli. Flyhalf Christian Lealiifano added five conversions.

    The Waratahs replied with four tries by hooker Damien Fitzpatrick, wing Taqele Naiyaravoro, flank Will Miller and replacement Brad Wilkin. Flyhalf Bernard Foley was on target with all four conversions as well as a penalty.

    The Brumbies picked up four points for their victory, but stayed third in the Australian Conference. They did however move up to ninth in the Overall standings.

    The Waratahs left empty-handed, but stayed top of the Australian Conference and second in the Overall log.

    Should the Lions beat the Bulls, they will host the Jaguares in the quarter-finals, while the Waratahs will play the Highlanders in Sydney.

    However, should the Lions lose to, or draw with, the Bulls, they will host the Highlanders while the Waratahs will welcome the Jaguares to Sydney.



    15 Israel Folau, 14 Cam Clark, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 10 Bernard Foley (captain), 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Will Miller, 6 Ned Hanigan, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Jed Holloway, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Tom Robertson

    Substitutes: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Brad Wilkin, 21 Jake Gordon, 22 Alex Newsome, 23 Bryce Hegarty


    15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Andy Muirhead, 10 Christian Lealiifano (captain), 9 Joe Powell, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 David Pocock, 6 Blake Enever, 5 Richie Arnold, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Faingaa, 1 Scott Sio

    Substitutes: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 Nic Mayhew, 18 Les Leulua’iali’i-Makin, 19 Sam Carter, 20 Lachlan McCaffrey, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Wharenui Hawera, 23 Lausii Taliauli

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.