Brumbies change one for Sunwolves

    2018-06-01 09:33

    Canberra - Brumbies hooker Connal McInerney will start a Super Rugby match for the first time when they host the Sunwolves in Canberra on Sunday. 

    McInerney, who has won two Brumbies caps off the bench, will start in place of the suspended Folau Fainga’a, the only change from the staring XV that short-handed defeated the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria last Saturday. 

    The only other change comes on the bench where prop Ben Alexander, the 150-cap veteran, is selected amongst the Brumbies finishers alongside the same players who came off the bench to such fantastic effect in the win over the Bulls. 

    A decision on who will provide cover for the hooker position will be made closer to kick-off. 

    Wallabies frontrowers Scott Sio and Allan Alaalatoa will provide plenty of experience either side of McInerney with Blake Enever and Sam Carter providing an all-international partnership in the lock department. 

    There’s a bagful of talent in the backrow as well with Lachlan McCaffrey and David Pocock offering mobility and dynamism alongside the raw power and physicality of number eight Isi Naisarani. 

    The back-line has a settled feel, with the same group that tore apart the Bulls with fourteen-men given another chance to impress. Joe Powell and Christian Lealiifano continue at halfback with Kyle Godwin and Tevita Kuridrani in the centres. 

    Out wide, Andy Muirhead and Tom Banks, who both scored sparkling tries in Pretoria are on the left wing and at full-back respectively, with Henry Speight completing the back three. 

    On the bench, Nick Mayhew and Alexander are the prop changes with Richie Arnold and Tom Cusack the other forward cover. Matt Lucas, Wharenui Hawera, who provided two clutch conversions last week, and Andrew Smith provide the alternatives for the backs. 

    The Brumbies have only ever met the Sunwolves once before in Canberra, winning 66-5 in May 2016 and will be searching for back-to-back wins for the first time in nearly a year whilst the Sunwolves remain on the hunt for their maiden Super Rugby win away from home, having lost their previous 20 away matches.



    15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Andy Muirhead, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 David Pocock, 6 Lachlan Mccaffrey, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Blake Enever, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Connal Mcinerney, 1 Scott Sio 

    Substitutes: 16 TBC, 17 Nic Mayhew, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 Richie Arnold, 20 Tom Cusack, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Wharenui Hawera, 23 Andrew Smith



    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights


    04 August 2018
    28 July 2018
    21 July 2018
    20 July 2018
    14 July 2018
    13 July 2018
    07 July 2018
    06 July 2018
    30 June 2018
    29 June 2018
    03 June 2018
    02 June 2018
    01 June 2018
    26 May 2018
    25 May 2018
    19 May 2018
    18 May 2018
    12 May 2018
    11 May 2018
    05 May 2018
    04 May 2018
    28 April 2018
    27 April 2018
    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Lions (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Stormers
    • Bulls

    Opinion Poll

    Who will win the 2018 Rugby Championships?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.