Brumbies change 2 for Bulls clash

    2018-05-24 17:02

    Cape Town - Brumbies head coach Dan McKellar has made two changes to his starting line-up for their Super Rugby clash with the Bulls in Pretoria on Saturday.

    Blake Enever and Lachlan McCaffrey are recalled to the starting line-up in the absence of the suspended Rory Arnold and injured Rob Valetini.

    Enever will partner co-captain Sam Carter in the lock position for the first time this season, with the only previous time the pair have been selected in the same starting XV coming when Enever started in the back-row in the Round 11 match with the Crusaders in Canberra.

    McCaffrey meanwhile slots back into the blindside role having been named as a replacement in the defeat to the Lions last weekend. The physical ball-carrier will be joined in the back-row by David Pocock and Isi Naisarani.

    The rest of the starting team is the same that played in Johannesburg with the front-row of Scott Sio, Folau Fainga'a and Allan Alaalatoa packing down together for the eighth match in succession, bringing a forceful and formidable look to the engine room of the scrum.

    Behind the pack, the backs will be looking to replicate the attacking flair and fearless attitude shown against the Lions, with the Brumbies very much in the match until a brace of cards late on left them with a mountain to climb to contain the rampant home side.

    Joe Powell and Christian Lealiifano will be the halfback pairing for the fifth time this season, although prior to the Lions match the duo hadn't formed the axis since the Round 4 clash with the Rebels in Melbourne.

    Kyle Godwin remains at centre alongside Brumbies newest centurion Tevita Kuridrani, the Wallaby international celebrating his 100th cap with a try in Johannesburg. Out wide Andy Muirhead, Henry Speight and two-try Tom Banks will be looking to cause more carnage having been afforded the licence to run last time out.

    There are three new faces on the bench with hooker Connal McInerney, flown in during the week after Robbie Abel suffered a calf strain, joined amongst the finishers by lock Richie Arnold and flyhalf Wharenui Hawera.

    Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin reverts to his normal role of prop, after his three-minute spell at hooker at the tail-end of the match against the Lions with fellow front-rower Nick Mayhew and flanker Tom Cusack the other forward options as McKellar reverts to a bench consisting of five forwards and three backs.

    The back replacements are scrumhalf Matt Lucas, Hawera and the versatile Andrew Smith who will be hoping to earn his 72nd Super Rugby cap should he be called upon to enter the fray.

    Kick-off is at 15:05.



    15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Travis Odendaal, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Johnny Kotze, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Marco van Staden, 7 Nic de Jager, 6 Roelof Smit, 5 RG Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Conraad van Vuuren, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Trevor Nyakane

    Substitutes: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Mox Mxoli, 18 Matthys Basson, 19 Ruben van Heerden, 20 Thembelani Bholi, 21 Andre Warner, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Divan Rossouw


    15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Andrew Muirhead, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 David Pocock, 6 Lachlan McCaffrey, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Blake Enever, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 Scott Sio

    Substitutes: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 Nick Mayhew, 18 Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, 19 Richie Arnold, 20 Tom Cusack, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Wharenui Hawera, 23 Andrew Smith

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    04 August 2018
    28 July 2018
    21 July 2018
    20 July 2018
    14 July 2018
    13 July 2018
    07 July 2018
    06 July 2018
    30 June 2018
    29 June 2018
    03 June 2018
    02 June 2018
    01 June 2018
    26 May 2018
    25 May 2018
    19 May 2018
    18 May 2018
    12 May 2018
    11 May 2018
    05 May 2018
    04 May 2018
    28 April 2018
    27 April 2018
    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Lions (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Stormers
    • Bulls

    Opinion Poll

    Who will win the 2018 Rugby Championships?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.