Blues bolstered by All Blacks duo

    2018-06-27 10:03

    Auckland - The Blues welcome back All Blacks Rieko Ioane and Ofa Tu'ungafasi for Friday’s Super Rugby clash against the Reds at Eden Park (kick-off 09:35 SA time).

    The match will be Jerome Kaino’s final home game on his beloved Eden Park where he has many of his best and most memorable rugby memories.

    Kaino, who made his Super debut against the Reds in 2004, will chalk up his 137th cap for the franchise on Friday, to draw level with Tony Woodcock as the joint second most capped Blues player behind Keven Mealamu.

    Tu'ungafasi returns to bolster a strong looking Blues pack with Alex Hodgman and James Parsons, with Kaino forming a powerful back three with Akira Ioane and Blake Gibson, who makes a welcome first appearance after off-season shoulder surgery.

    With Sonny Bill Williams sidelined with a shoulder injury received against France, Rieko Ioane moves back to the Blues midfield alongside Michael Collins, who has played in this role often before finding a home at fullback when he came to the Blues.

    It leaves an exciting back three with New Zealand U20 wing Caleb Clarke, Melani Nanai and Matt Duffie.

    Captain Augustine Pulu will need to come through a fitness test to take his place at halfback inside Stephen Perofeta and is bracketed with Sam Nock.

    “This is an important occasion for our club and for this team. Jerome has been a magnificent contributor to the Blues and the All Blacks both on and off the field, and much of that success has been on Eden Park,” said coach Tana Umaga.

    “There is no better way for our team to honour Jerome than to produce a performance of real quality, consistency and direction.

    “Our season to date has been disappointing, but we see these final three games as important for us to transfer that hard work that we see on the training field into performance on it.”



    15 Matt Duffie, 14 Melani Nanai, 13 Michael Collins, 12 Rieko Ioane, 11 Caleb Clarke, 10 Stephen Perofeta, 9 Augustine Pulu (captain)/Sam Nock, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Blake Gibson, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Matiaha Martin, 4 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 3 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 2 James Parsons, 1 Alex Hodgman

    Substitutes: 16 Matt Moulds/Leni Apisai, 17 Pauliasi Manu, 18 Sione Mafileo, 19 Jacob Pierce, 20 Murphy Taramai, 21 Jonathan Ruru, 22 Bryn Gatland, 23 TJ Faiane/Tumua Manu


    15 Jono Lance, 14 Jordan Petaia, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Duncan Paia’aua, 11 Eto Nabuli, 10 Hamish Stewart, 9 Moses Sorovi, 8 Scott Higginbotham (captain), 7 George Smith, 6 Lukhan Tui, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Harry Hockings, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 JP Smith

    Substitutes: 16 Alex Mafi, 17 Harry Hoopert, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Caleb Timu, 20 Angus Scott-Young, 21 Tate McDermott, 22 Aidan Toua, 23 Filipo Daugunu

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 29 May 2020
    • Blues v Highlanders, 09:05
    • Brumbies v Sunwolves, 11:15
    Saturday, 30 May 2020
    • Hurricanes v Waratahs, 06:45
    • Crusaders v Chiefs, 09:05
    • Rebels v Reds, 11:15
    • Lions v Jaguares, 15:05
    • Bulls v Stormers, 17:15
    Monday, 01 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Sharks (Q)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Bulls
    • Lions

    Opinion Poll

    Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.