Battered Brumbies stumble in play-off race

    2016-07-08 11:21

    Cape Town - The Brumbies' Super Rugby playoff aspirations received a major blow when they were thrashed 40-15 by the Blues on Friday.

    The hosts secured a bonus point win, scoring six tries while the Brumbies could only cross the whitewash twice.

    The Blues started like a house on fire, playing a brand of rugby suggesting that they should have been far more competitive this season. 

    They had two tries within the opening 10 minutes through Jerome Kaino and James Parson to race to a 14-0 lead before the Brumbies got on the board through a penalty try after they dominated a 5m scrum.

    Sam Prattley and Matt Duffie then scored for the Aucklanders, ensuring they had four tries inside the opening 20 minutes as they stretched their lead to 28-7.

    The Brumbies hit back with a try from Matt Toomua and a penalty from Christian Lealiifano to go into the break 28-15 down. 

    The Australians needed a strong start in the second half, but again it was the Blues to strike first when Kaino grabbed his second of the night. 

    The rout was complete when Duffie scored his second.

    The Brumbies' loss has opened the door for the Waratahs to take top spot in the Australian Conference with a win over the Hurricanes on Saturday.

    The Blues, meanwhile, stay bottom in the New Zealand Conference. 


    Blues 40 (28)

    Tries: Jerome Kaino (2), James Parsons, Sam Prattley, Matt Duffie (2)

    Conversions: Piers Francis (5)

    Brumbies 15 (15)

    Tries: Penalty try, Matt Toomua

    Conversions: Christian Lealiifano

    Penalties: Lealiifano



    15 Melani Nanai, 14 Matt Duffie, 13 Male Sa'u/Matt Vaega, 12 Piers Francis, 11 Tevita Li, 10 Ihaia West, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Steven Luatua, 7 Kara Pryor, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Josh Bekhuis/Scott Scrafton, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu, 3 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 2 James Parsons (captain), 1 Sam Prattley

    Substitutes: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Nic Mayhew, 18 Sione Mafileo, 19 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 20 Blake Gibson, 21 Billy Guyton, 22 Matt Vaega/Michael Little, 23 Lolagi Visinia


    15 Aidan Toua, 14 Nigel Ah Wong, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 James Dargaville, 10 Christian Leali'ifano (co-captain), 9 Tomás Cubelli, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Jarrad Butler, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore (co-captain), 1 Scott Sio.

    Substitutes: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Allan Alaalatoa, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Blake Enever, 20 Tam Staniforth, 21 Joe Powell, 22 Andrew Smith, 23 Lausii Taliauli

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    Saturday, 17 February 2018
    • Stormers v Jaguares, Cape Town 15:05
    • Lions v Sharks, Emirates Airlines Park 17:15
    Friday, 23 February 2018
    • Highlanders v Blues, 08:35
    • Rebels v Reds, AAMI Park 10:45
    Saturday, 24 February 2018
    • Sunwolves v Brumbies, Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium 06:15
    • Crusaders v Chiefs, 08:35
    • Waratahs v Stormers, Allianz Stadium 10:45
    • Lions v Jaguares, Emirates Airlines Park 15:05
    • Bulls v Hurricanes, Loftus Versfeld 17:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    The 2017 Super Rugby tournament has reached its quarter-final stage. When all is said and done, who emerges victorious?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.