‘Back to basics’ as Chiefs name team to face Crusaders

    2019-03-07 07:59

    Hamilton - The Chiefs have named their team ahead of Saturday’s Super Rugby encounter against the Crusaders in Christchurch.

    Chiefs head coach Colin Cooper has made a number of changes to the starting XV that lost 30-15 to the Sunwolves last weekend.

    All Blacks Nathan Harris and Nepo Laulala will re-join to start in the front row alongside Aidan Ross.

    The return of Harris and Laulala means Samisoni Taukei’aho and Angus Ta’avao move to the reserves. A new locking combination of captain Brodie Retallick and Tyler Ardron will take the field with Michael Allardice being ruled out after sustaining an injury in training. Lachlan Boshier gets the nod as the starting No 7 ahead of Mitchell Karpik who has been named on the bench.

    In the backline, inside centre Anton Lienert-Brown returns refreshed following his week off to combine in the midfield with centre Tumua Manu shifting Alex Nankivell to the bench. Fullback Solomon Alaimalo returns from injury to earn his first start of the season.

    Flyhalf Jack Debreczeni will be hoping to impress if given the opportunity to debut off the bench.

    “For us this week, we have gone back to basics and have focused on what we can control as a team,” Cooper told the Chiefs official website.

    “We welcome the return of a couple of our team who have been out with injury or on leave. These guys are ready to go and eager to play and bring great energy into the team which we will need to combat an impressive Crusaders team.”

    Saturday’s clash in Christchurch is scheduled for 06:15 (SA time).



    15 Will Jordan, 14 Sevu Reece, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Ryan Crotty (captain), 11 Braydon Ennor, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Ere Enari, 8 Whetukamokamo Douglas, 7 Billy Harmon, 6 Jordan Taufua, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Mitchell Dunshea, 3 Michael Alaalatoa, 2 Andrew Makalio, 1 Joe Moody

    Substitutes: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Harry Allan, 18 George Bower, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Ethan Blackadder, 21 Bryn Hall, 22 Brett Cameron, 23 David Havili


    15 Solomon Alaimalo, 14 Sean Wainui, 13 Tumua Manu, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Etene Nanai-Seturo, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Taleni Seu, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Mitchell Brown, 5 Tyler Ardron, 4 Brodie Retallick (captain), 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Aidan Ross

    Substitutes: 16 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17 Tevita Mafileo, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Jesse Parete, 20 Mitchell Karpik, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Jack Debreczeni, 23 Alex Nankivell

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Friday, 29 March 2019
    • Hurricanes v Crusaders, Westpac Stadium 08:35
    • Waratahs v Sunwolves, McDonald Jones Stadium 10:45
    Saturday, 30 March 2019
    • Blues v Stormers, Eden Park 08:35
    • Reds v Rebels, Suncorp Stadium 10:45
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 15:05
    • Jaguares v Chiefs, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 05 April 2019
    • Highlanders v Hurricanes, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:35
    • Reds v Stormers, Suncorp Stadium 11:00
    • Lions v Sharks, Emirates Airline Park 19:10


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Lions (Q)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Bulls (wc)
    • Jaguares

    Opinion Poll

    Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.